nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Perspective

I was doing some reading this morning and was struck like a 2x4 to the head by the article I was reading. One part in particular was very well put: "You are not defined by what happens to you, but by how you respond to the happenings of life."
I think that's very apt. In the last several years in particular, I've learned to believe this. There was a time I didn't think it was true. I very firmly thought that we are a result of the things that have happened in our life, that what we go through shapes us and makes us what we are. For the longest time, I thought I was broken and lost because that's what I came from: mixed up and messed up people who thought affection came in a bottle of whiskey and a slug to the chin. I felt unworthy and unloved because that's what I'd been shown. I was useless unless I was being altruistic, unnecessary unless I was needed by someone.
I still think, to a degree, that the events in our life leave their mark. I like to think, however, that it's mostly about choices.
I've made choices that have changed the paths I travel, both good and bad. Right now, overall, I'm in a good traffic pattern and I'm pretty content. There are a few things that could use some fine tuning, but overall, I can't complain.
If you want to read the piece that brought these thoughts on, go here. I think it's very thought-provoking.
Happy Monday.
N.

8:40 a.m. - 2006-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged