nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trips and tribulations.

Oh, my goodness, what a weekend!
The boys and I went to a relative's this weekend and on the way there, the front driver side tire went kaput. I'm driving along and hear this "whompawhompa" sound, accompanied by a shimmyshake of the steering wheel. It's pitch dark outside, we're in the middle of nowhere and it's rural as hell but I manage to pull into a drive that leads to the barn belonging to a big old white farm house.
I'm sitting there in my van, brain going a million miles an hour---wondering if I'm going to have cell coverage out in BFE, wondering if LeatherfaceViaOhio is going to come crawling through the dark, wondering if there's even a stinking spare tire under my van and, if so, will it be flat too?
I call my aunt then call AAA to arrange for a tow truck to come assist. I get out and realize I haven't a clue how to get the spare out from UNDER my van. From the feel of it, it's got air in it but I can't figure out how to get it OUT.
The boys and GracieDog are sitting in the back of the van, chattering back and forth (the boys) and pacing and barking (Gracie).
When my aunt shows up, I transfer kiddos and pooch to her car and continue waiting for the tow driver (he arrives half an hour after the flat occurs).
Ironically, there's a little bitty square thing in the cargo area of my van that you lift and then unscrew a bolt, to lower the spare. He does so and then promptly puts it on my van so we're back on our way.
No Leatherface, perfect cell coverage, spare in good shape. Yay.
After looking at the blown tire, I realized that although it looked great from the outside, the inside (facing the car) was showing belt in a big way, hence the blow.
I also realize, when I run my hand over the inside of the OTHER front wheel that's still on my car and manage to slit open my fingertips, that the OTHER tire is showing belt in a big way too.
I drove home today very nervously!
I'm not going to buy a brand new tire because....
are you ready?
As of Friday, I'll be the proud new owner of a 2003 Ford Windstar minivan (pre-owned, of course, but still!), sage green and beeeeeeeee-UUuu-tiful. It's gorgeous. Going to cost more than any other vehicle I've ever owned but I'm putting my money in wisely. It's in outstanding shape, with super low milage and GREAT tires (ha)!! Leather seats, dual sliding doors that are powered and close at the touch of a button, dvd player (the boys are bananas over that)...all sorts of bells and whistles that I love.
Therefore, instead of spending $60 on a new tire, I'm going for a gently used one from a dealer my uncle knows and trusts. Just till Friday.
I'm very excited.
Very glad to be home, too. It's crazy how a busy weekend makes you so happy to come home. I've been house-mousing with dishes and laundry and couldn't be happier. I made cookies and we're having manicotti for supper tonight---Yum. I'm going to check all my diaries and sites and then curl up with my book for a bit. The boys are muddling through getting their rooms cleaned with only occasional prods from me so evening should be free and clear to slog. Oh! and to finish up the boys' Cub Scout Space Derby rockets. I need to get them painted for tomorrow night's Derby.
Happy weekend, all!
N.

1:36 p.m. - 2006-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged