nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Swimming with the fishes

I'm a terrible mother. Or at least, for a short period of time yesterday, I felt like one.
Remember those fair goldfish the boys came home with about a month ago? Ryan's finally died yesterday. I came home and saw him floating so went with my natural reaction (EW! Dead fish! Flush it!!) only to remember just after I'd hit the handle on the toilet that Ry had wanted to bury it. In fact, right around Halloween, he'd gotten candy specifically to keep the plastic coffin it came in, just for this purpose.
Watching that fish swirl down into the depths of the sewer, I felt like the world's biggest heel. I thought!
Then Ryan came home.
I told him about the fishie and he promptly burst into tears. We've never had a pet die yet and he was really an unhappy camper. He wanted to know if I'd kept it so he could bury it and I had to say no, at which point he cried all the harder. I felt two inches tall. Explained over and over that there's no rhyme or reason to fair fish, some make it and some don't, etc. Didn't make a difference. By that time, he was focused on the idea that the fish died with no one home to care and now was floating in crap.
Terrible doesn't cover it.
I finally managed to convince him he could set up a tiny memorial in the backyard and that the fish wasn't in that tiny body anymore, so he wouldn't know he was in the sewer.
If it weren't so major to my boy, I might find the whole event somewhat laughable but sheesh...I don't think I could have felt lower on the food chain! You'd have thought his brother had died and I'd set him out in the garbage, the way this kid went on.
I'm also now stuck buying him another fish. Unfortunately, he wants one that can have babies! Guppy universe, here I come.
Happy Middle of the week!!
N.

6:45 a.m. - 2006-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged