nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ode to my bed

Sleep is a blessing.
When I was younger, I didn't sleep much.
I was one of those early morning risers who are perky and sickening without the aid of caffeine or pastry. I'd sleep maybe 4-5 hrs a night and be raring to go.
Not anymore! At least, not on a full-time basis. Through the week I average about 5-6 hrs a night and am functional in the mornings but once the weekend arrives, I need one of those days to sleep in and recharge. Last night was it for me. I slept 10 hrs!
Beyond the sleeping-in factor, I also just love my bed. I don't know if I've ever known anyone else who loves bed as much as I do. It's big and soft and puddled with comforter and pillow and furrybabies...even if I'm not sleeping, it's one of my favorite places to be. The boys will come and pile in to watch television while I read or we'll talk and wrangle a bit before bed there sometimes.
It's my favorite place to curl up with my book or the phone. People who call on any regular basis are used to me making them hold on while I un-burrito from the blankets or situate my pillows.
Unfortunately, I can't spend 24-7 in bed or I'd be another Shanna Moaklar.
Just sayin' that everyone has a place to hide and for me, it's my bed.
***
My little sister is coming over tonight while my mother attends her work's version of a Christmas party. I kept Pnut yesterday for ThatCousin and found out this morning that she took Pnut to the doc only to find she has strep throat.
Gee. Thanks. Pnut's two and therefore, although I've Lysoled every surface I can think of, she's going to have touched somewhere I don't hit. I called my mother to let her know and she's bringing C anyway.
I'm going to be not-so-happy if we all end up with strep.
Who drops their kiddo off at a home that has other kiddos, knowing that she's been unwell, feverish and sick for most of the week?
Blows me away. On top of that, when ThatCousin dropped her off, the poor girl had no shoes on, was dressed in a sweatshirt that was too small and hadn't had breakfast even though she'd been up for nearly 3 hrs.
*sigh*
***
Match.com has begun sending me "here's your matches for the week" emails. Do you suppose that's a hint?
I've never signed up for Match.com!
Sheesh.
Have a great weekend!
N.

9:49 a.m. - 2006-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged