nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I lerve my family

Earlyish here and really flippin' cold. With wind chill we're hovering in the 2 degree range and our high is supposed to be 25 today. I think somewhere, the weather gods are havin' a nice laugh---spoiling us with 60 degree temps the end of November then slamming us with weather more typical of January around here. Shall I just blame global warming and get it over with or chalk it up to crazy Ohio weather?
The dog even refused to go out this morning. She got all of three steps out the front door and onto the front porch and then hightailed it back inside before I even began to close the storm door.
Keep in mind that this is the same goofy pooch who won't do her bidness unless I shovel out a patch in the yard where she can actually see the grass. Apparently plain old snow is too good for our Grace to pee on.
At any rate, the boys are clamoring for snow (although it's a little too cold for it) and today began the official countdown to Christmas.
That entails getting up every single morning and putting a big black X through the day so as to make it obsolete from the countdown. Nevermind that the day isn't even really begun yet, it's done! Lickety split.
***
My Gramps has graduated to walking with the assistance of a walker fulltime now. I could see it coming as he has had a heck of a time staying upright without it but was too stubborn to admit he needed it. I was deathly afraid, with winter coming on, that there'd be a fall involved quicklike but thankfully, maybe, that'll not happen now.
He really doesn't go out that much anymore, maybe once every couple of days or so to hit his Hot Pick Eating Spot but I do all his errands, laundry, etc so he's content to just hang at home. In complete truth, I think it's a combo of not really having any friends alive anymore, a bit of depression and loneliness and maybe even a smidge of laziness. Why go out when everything's taken care of or brought to you?
Or maybe, down deep, he's feeling his age and it's just not worth it to him anymore.
I love my Gramps and wish like anything I could take some of his aches for him. Unfortunately, I can't and am doing the only thing I can do for him---staving off the quiet in bits and pieces and juggling some of what he needs me to.
***
I don't think I noted but another of my Grams' sisters died last week. Actually it was her last, a stepsister she always claimed as "sister". This has been a year for it, I swear. One of my aunts has decided we skipped the bad-things-in-threes situation and jumped right ahead to 7-is-unlucky. Granted, there haven't been 7 deaths, only 5 but...she's wondering where the other two are going to factor in. The year's not done quite yet.
How's that for optimism?
***
Happy Monday, all. Keep warm!
N.

7:51 a.m. - 2006-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged