nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cold! Gripe! Infatuation!

It's cold, cold, cold. Know how cold it is? Cold enough this normally barefoot mama is actually wearing SOCKS!!
I caught one of my cats snuggled up literally against the electric baseboard heater in the living room. I swear she's going to end up cooked.
Makes it a little crowded at night in my bed too, between the dog and at least two cats coming in to share some heat. Maybe that's a hint I should turn up the heat! I just hate getting those electric bills that cost more than my car payment a month. Ick.
On a more positive note, I have a nice roast cooking away in my crockpot right now, smothered in all sorts of yummy veggies so dinner tonight will be a snap. All I'll have to worry about is clean up. Since the boys have Scouts tonight and Trev has a dentist appt. this afternoon, that's a helpful thing.
***
I have a bit of a gripe. At the beginning of the school year, out of the list of 20 gazillion things they want parents to help with or volunteer for, I sign up for what I consider my fair share: room parent, help with Mega Night (the fun-for-all that occurs when all fundraising money has been turned in) and help with YMCA night. I always end up helping in small ways with other things like Book Fair, etc but these are my tried and true that I don't mind fully committing to.
I'm very aware that fundraisers have ended so I'm also aware that we'll be coming up on Mega Night before too long. Last night, I get a phone call from a girl I've never met, asking if I still intend to help with said event. I agree, tell her that was my intention and wait for her to tell me when she needs me.
It's on Friday! I received four days' notice. In the past, they've always given plenty of notice, not only to volunteers but also to parents in general because the PTO understands we're all busy people and it takes some planning sometimes to fit everything in. I'm not sure what the whole story behind this is but I'm disturbed and told the gal frankly that I wasn't sure now whether I'd be able to make the pieces fit. She sounded sort of put out.
I have a ton of things to accomplish this weekend, starting on Thursday and running through Monday of next week.
And while I feel bad because I always help with this event, it's not my fault they didn't give better notification of even the prospective date!
The boys are going to be sorely disappointed if they miss this, as it's something they look forward to every year and a nifty reward for doing their best in their fundraising events. I just don't know how much I'll be able to juggle.
Grrr...maybe I'm just really anal about time management.
***
At what age is it acceptable for a boy to admit he has a crush on a girl? The boys and I were talking this morning about Christmas and Santa Shop at school. I always give them money and strict instructions that they're to buy for family members and not themselves. Ryan asked if he could buy for a friend this year, with this odd look on his face. That look led me to ask what friend he was wanting to buy for and he turned twelve shades of red before muttering the name of a girl he knows.
I then asked Trev if he had any female friends he wanted to give a gift to and he adamantly said NO. After a bit of back and forth, with Trevor getting more and more agitated, Ryan pops out that Trev does, indeed, have a gf but he hates telling anyone. At that point, Trev popped out of the chair and storms out of the room, yelling behind him that he hates his brother.
Hmmm. Nerve there?
So I'm curious. When is the approximate age that boys in general begin to feel okay about having crushes on girls? I wonder, do I have another 5 years of the whole "denial with belligerence" thing or does this even out sometime soon?
This raising boys thing gets trickier every day.
Happy Tuesday! Ready for the Victoria's Secret show tonight?
N.

8:53 a.m. - 2006-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged