nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is how to create one grumpy, growly mom

How ironic. I write about what a gift my boys prove to be on a daily basis for me and whammo!
I got calls from both teachers tonight.
Ryan has more assignments MISSING than he's turned in this 9 weeks and Trevor has decided he doesn't have to do this reading test thing he's supposed to be doing weekly, thus resulting in an F in that subject.
*sigh*
I ended up sitting on the floor of Ry's classroom this afternoon, with his cubby emptied all around me, sorting through the detritus that is a 9 yr old boy's life at school.
We found a few papers, threw out a whole chunk of scribbled on notebook paper and managed to return three library books that were seriously overdue.
His teacher was kind enough to make copies of all the papers he's missing that we DIDN'T find and now he's got lots to do this weekend. In fact, so much, he won't be watching television for the next week. At least.
They're both extremely bright boys but their organization skills suck!
So that's my goal for this next 9 week period. Organization. Because Trevor's just as bad---his desk looks like a Tazmanian devil lives there.
Their grades right now are very much reflecting these situations, too.
Color me not a happy camper.
***
I get to help supervise a gymnasium full of elementary kids tonight. Yeehaw. I'm taking Tylenol prior to leaving for it because I'm trying to be proactive. I am half tempted to beg off and not go but that's probably not the best thing in the world to do.
Plus, I probably shouldn't be letting the boys go because of the whole "assignment" situation right now but I'm torn. They earned this by selling fundraising items and turning their money in on time. If they hadn't sold anything or if they hadn't collected their money in time, they wouldn't be going. Thus, consequences for actions.
They earn nightly television by getting work done (it's on our privilege chart)...is it enough of an impact to just take away television (which they love and also includes anything done ON the t.v., like PS2)?
Today is one of those days I need a parenting guru.
Grrrrr...
N.

5:48 p.m. - 2006-12-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged