nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Busy beaver...erm bee?

I've had a fun evening with brown paper bags.
Have you ever searched your house, trying to find something, anything, that resembles, or can be transformed into, something Native Americans wore?
I scoured our home tonight, trying to do just that. I have to say that there's not a whole heck of alot floating around here that even by a huge stretch of imagination looks like anything remotely Indian-ish.
See, the boys' entire school is doing this Native American thing right now and projects and reports finalize this week. I managed to eek out the reports (they had to be typed, double spaced,5 paragraphs with perfect grammar and punctuation for even Ryan---and he's 9!), Trevor finished up his model of a tepee and wigwam (constructed of tree bark, paper bag and twigs with glue) and Ryan completed his map of Ohio and it's Indian territories.
However, I'd forgotten that they had to wear a piece of Indian apparel!
Good thing I have a few creative juices left in my body.
Trev's going to be sporting a breech cloth consisting of a dark brown fleece scarf that has a Cleveland Browns pattern on it (his, not mine) and a piece of dark yarn, over his jeans.
Ryan decided that instead of the handy-dandy (and really simple) headband I suggested, he wanted to wear a vest made from brown paper shopping bags.
The thing about brown paper bag material is that if you crinkle, wrinkle, scrunch, ball up and rub it against itself (that sounded pervy), it'll EVENTUALLY begin to feel very soft and almost leathery.
Guess who's ending up with the hand cramps?
You got it. I'm currently taking a break because honestly, my hands are getting sore. I'd like to occupy them in other ways for a few.
Crazy how quickly the last few weeks have flown by. Next Wednesday is the last day of school before Christmas Break.
My sister will be coming over during Break, as is our norm. I'm looking forward to spending a bit of time with her.
I got Gramps' tree erected and decorated today, and also managed to scatter Christmas-y things around his apartment. I knew I'd succeeded in bringing the holiday into his home when he began humming Christmas carols under his breath. Something I inherited from my Gramps---singing when content or happy. My mother has always said she can tell when I'm at my most upbeat or happy state because I drive everyone crazy singing everything from commercials to songs on the radio.
I also finished all of his Christmas cards and just need to get stamps to get them sent out.
A very productive day, over all.
I can curl up in my big old bed tonight, knowing I got a huge chunk o'things I'd planned for the weekend done.
Happy Thursday evening.
N. btw, I vaguely disturbed by the completely unseasonable weather we're having this week. Ohio. 11 days until Christmas. 60 degrees!!!!! That's just not normal. Must be the end of the world coming, right? Sheesh.

9:07 p.m. - 2006-12-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged