nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All typed while humming the 12 days of Christmas. Repeatedly.

OH, oh, oh.
I'm like the children now, impatient to get this whole Christmas thing started. Now that I'm done shopping and nearly done wrapping, I want to get on with the giving!! Plus, my three kitties seem to think that wrapping paper and wrapped presents are their newest toys and I'm hard pressed to find places to put it all where they don't have access to them.
I kept getting woken up last night, listening to them chasing a crumpled ball of paper up and down the hallway. I finally took it away and went back to bed, only to wake to Sam-I-Am trying to bat a bow off one of the packages stacked on the sewing machine in my bedroom. Wackjob.
Even without the snow (I've become resigned to the idea we won't have a white Christmas) I'm ready to get my givin' on.
This afternoon I'm going to the boys' school to help them with some craft they're doing for their Kindergarten buddies. Tomorrow is School Party Day and I get to split my time there in half in order to be in each boy's classroom for a little while. I stuffed 60 little treat bags last night, all while watching Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Lost my place a couple of time with the bags because I was engrossed in the movie. I'm a musical nut and this was one of my first 3 favorites as a kiddo (the other two being The Sound of Music and Mary Poppins, of course). In comparison to the other two, Chitty's got some pretty creepy moments in regard to children but it all comes out in the wash.
I've baked cookies like mad but I think I may finally be done. I'm still looking for a good recipe for the dough for my cookie press but the world will not stop spinning if they don't get done.
All in all, coming along swimmingly.
I'm trying, anyway.
***
In other news, I will be renewing my Gold membership this afternoon. My poor page looks so...broken without my images. So sad. Plus! I can't post pics and that's not good at all.
My aunts have taken my Gramps off of his Wellbutrin and all he wants to do anymore is sleep. I wish they'd stop monkeying around with his meds. He's an old guy who deserves to just be left well enough alone. He was happier on it. My fear is that if they keep putting him on things and then taking him off, one of these days there'll be a more detrimental effect and something horrid's going to happen. He's already not so steady on his feet. The constant med changes can't help that any.
My mother has settled into her Christmas depression. She's bothered right now because she and my older brother haven't spoken for over a year now, my younger brother is in Florida with his new baby and gf and has no intention of coming home anytime soon (having warrants out for you make that difficult) and the jerk she's chosen to share her life with for the last several years is being...well, a jerk.
I called the other night and they were in the midst of an argument. I don't know when I've ever heard a man be so verbally abusive. And she thinks he loves her. *sigh*
Yet, she tolerates it. She's bothered by the lack of family but makes no effort to change it. She's lonely and sad and wonders why none of us wants to spend the holidays there.
And I have no answers for her.
I'll stop out long enough to give her and my little sister their gifts and that'll be it. Can't handle being out there for too long and certainly don't want my boys out there if they're drinking/drunk.
***
On a more positive note, the sun is shining, my boys are healthy and it's almost time to give presents!!!
Happy Tuesday, all. I have a hot date with the shower.
N.

8:41 a.m. - 2006-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged