nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home Home Home

Good golly, I'm glad I'm home.
After a whirlwind several days, it feels good just to be back in my own space again.
Let's see if I can describe the holiday festivities in a nutshell...
Dig, if you will, the image of the end result of an 83 yr old diabetic, overwrought by the holidays and on a binge of rocky road fudge and spiked eggnog. Yep. Oh, the joy of it.
Also picture wayyyy too much wrapping paper (about eight lawn-n-leaf bags full) between several households and children buzzed on chocolate and toy-intoxication. Then picture trying to get them to go to SLEEP!
I jest (sort of). All of that it very true but I have to say that overall, it was nice to be surrounded by family and to have that time with my boys.
Everyone seemed pretty happy with the gifts that were given and therefore, I'm happy as well.
The boys had a blast and are oh-so-tired now. They've spent the better part of the day immersed in Gameboy/pogo stick/Roboraptor/etc. One of the ongoing gifts of Christmas---the peace and quiet that ensues when children have new toys to occupy themselves. Watching them open their presents this morning was as priceless as ever. I love that early morning wide-eyed wonder on sleepy faces with mussed up not-so-little boy hair, barely contained impatience making them fidget and twitch. Love. It.
My new toys?
The boys gave me some cute little doodads they bought at the Secret Santa Shop at school and made me magnets from Model Magic (nifty stuff).
From assorted family members I received a bread machine (yay!) and a stand mixer (yay!--good to have something to mix the dough for the bread machine) and an Ipod nano. The Ipod was a bit of a surprise, something jointly from all of my aunts as a thank you for what I do with Gramps throughout the year.
I was beyond surprised.
The only real low point to the holiday was my mother. Going with my new "less stress is best" goal in mind, I had called to ask if it would be possible to bring the boys out closer to the weekend, so as to not shove too much traveling into a two day span.
She copped an attitude and ended up hanging up on me.
I took the boys out today for an hour, during which she gave me a guilt trip for trying to "put everyone else in front of her" (her words), a 750 piece puzzle of a baby kitten and a cup of tea. The boys received a bit more pleasantness---a 10 piece pencil set, to share.
*sigh*

Beyond that I can say that all went well and we tucked away a few more memories.
***
I missed my Dland time. It's truly an escape for me. Glad to be home, glad to be back online, glad to be able to curl up in my big old bed with a home that smells of fresh baked bread and rings with faint echoes of my sons' laughter.
Happy Tuesday, all.
N.

9:52 p.m. - 2006-12-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged