nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Color and warmth

I've been sitting here, paying half attention to the OSU/Florida game. We're in halftime now, getting spanked by the Gators 34-14 and I'm getting tired. I know, though, that if I fall asleep before seeing the final score of this game that my sons are going to be horribly disappointed with me. What a failure as a mother---so old I can't even stay up to see such an important game. I can hear it now!
***
I went to my Gramps' today and he's not feeling so hot. It comes and go, this particular malady of his and some days are just better than others. I think a large part of it is just age. He's bothered by arthritis and other complaints but seems to be losing the ability to process that some of it comes with age. Or maybe he just chooses to ignore that part of it.
I would imagine that his version of aging isn't fun---watching family and friends dying and leaving you behind, having a body that refuses to keep on keeping on.
Not so different from everyone else's version, just personalized for him.
Some days are better than others and I'm glad to be able to still bring him some sunshine in his life.
I managed to talk him into letting me put away half of his Christmas things this afternoon. He's clinging to the Christmas tree something fierce. I don't know if I'll get it down before Easter, at this rate.
I hung his suncatchers back up today on the sliding doors out to his tiny little balcony. They sparkled in the sun, sending splashes of red and blues, greens and yellows dancing across the stark white of his walls. It was like watching color brought alive and I can see why, in the afternoon light, he enjoys quietly watching them.
They bring a warmth to his space there.
***
Winter has stopped into Ohio for a day or two. TheLyingWeathermen have voiced that we may actually receive a whole inch of snow sometime tonight or tomorrow. I will say that it's very cold here, in comparison to what it's been. I've enjoyed curling up with hot tea, wrapped in men's flannel jammies with my hair tangled up on top of my head, slippers bothering my feet. GracieDog is sprawled across my bed just a foot away or so, snoring like an old man and my bed is looking increasingly more welcoming. I read something today that warmed me from the inside out, a view that followed my own on newness and such. It's funny how you can find pieces of yourself scattered here and there.
I think I'll close this up now and just say my typical:
Happy Monday.
N.

10:34 p.m. - 2007-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged