nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random morning

Morning again and I'm less contemplative. Could be because I've only been awake for about an hour or could be because I managed to slide everything into perspective. I like to think it's the latter.
I'm listening to Ryan singing some random ditty as he digs his clothing out of his dresser drawers. I can hear Trevor groaning at him to "please, Ryan, shut up. Can't you see I'm sleeping here?"
It never fails to amaze me how to such close and similar-looking boys can be quite so opposite in temperament.
Ryan is very much a morning person and has been since he arrived in this world. He's always up at the crack of dawn, sometimes even before it. He's lively and comes wide awake, happy to face another day.
When he was a baby, I would wake to hear him gurgling and cooing to himself in his crib and I can't remember seeing a bigger smile on his face than when I opened the door and told him good morning. He lit up.
Trevor is very much NOT a morning person. He hides from the day under the barrier of his blanket and it takes him a good half hour before he's remotely sociable. Some days, waking him is like trying to wake the dead. And if I overdo, he's a big grumbly bear.
Once he wakes up, he stumbles around, bleary-eyed and slow, and there's no hurrying him.
As a toddler, I quickly discovered the half hour rule. Because he was non-verbal for much of that period of his life, I was met with growls and howls of frustration if I messed with him in anyway before the first half hour was up. He was a sweetie once he woke up a bit but boy, not at first!
They've figured out their own rhythms in the morning. Trev tends to tolerate Ryan's cheer as long as it's within (his) bounds. Ryan has learned not to step too close to the lion, so to speak.
I love listening to them wake up. Ryan's chatter is a funny sort of music to me, reminding me of how I was as a kid. I loved mornings too, the earlier the better. Hated being in bed, because it felt like a waste of time. It's funny how age can change your views---I love sleep now, the more, the better!
More in common with Trev, now.
I don't begrudge the starting of the day. I love watching the first fingers of light creep into the sky, love watching the pinks and reds flood the dark, carrying the blue in behind it. I love the fresh feeling to mornings.
I just love my bed too.
Happy Thursday.
N.

6:46 a.m. - 2007-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged