nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overflowing

It's been yet another day filled with rain and grey skies. TheLyingWeathermen are warning about floods and such, that's how much rain we've had. Driving to see a movie today, the boys and I saw so many areas near us underwater. There's a stretch of roadway on the way to the town the movies are in that's got swampland on either side of it and the creek/river that runs across it is completely swollen and running over.
It was beautiful.
I have always loved water, even the water in mud puddles as a kid. I always thought it looked like my mother's tea after she was done putting milk and sugar in it.
I loved swimming in the creeks near our numerous houses, loved sitting on the water with my stepdad on his fishing expeditions.
As an adult, I've loved sitting on the deck of my aunt's lake house in the dark, listening to the constant rhythm of Lake Erie licking at the concrete blocks in frustration.
I love the way the Mohican sounds when we're camped next to it in the Spring, Summer and Fall and I love the sound rain makes hitting my windows and roof.
I love the way water looks while it flows, even at it's most destructive.
The floodwaters I saw building today...someone's not going to love them very much. There's a strange sort of energy that they carry and it's one I feel inside me as well.
We also saw a heron sitting smack dab in the middle of someone's driveway. It was a startling sight, really. I'm used to seeing them in the rivers near us or in the swamps but never just in the middle of a drive like that.
Seemed incongruent.
We saw Flushed Away today and enjoyed it. It's a pretty cute movie, as animated films go. Not your typical animated, either, done in that claymation-like way they've done things lately.
The boys loved it.
We ended up at the bookstore after and spent some time looking and talking and talking and looking. It was pretty busy so I'm sure we annoyed more than one person. Not in a loud-obnoxious way, more of a constant murmur sort of thing but enough to bother someone not interested in childhood chatter.
I find out so much about them like that, though. It's working for me.
I'm tired tonight, looking forward to curling up in the dark and falling asleep to the tapping of droplets against my window, cool breezes blowing in the small opening I've left cracked and soothed by the sound of GracieDog snoring not-so-softly on the other side of the bed. Not quite the warm body I'd envisioned spending my 30's with but affectionate regardless.
Happy Sunday night.
N.

10:20 p.m. - 2007-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged