nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ry's chess tournament

Ryan had his chess tournament today. There are chess clubs at each of our elementary schools here (all 5 of them) and they all converged together this afternoon, to play each other.
Now, keep in mind that these are 4th grade through 6th, comprised of maybe 6-10 students at each school.
So, overall, not a huge bunch.
I sat for an hour, watching these children playing chess (thankfully I know how to play too or I'd have been lostlostlost). It was really rather interesting to watch the different styles and how seriously these kiddos take their chess!
Ryan was incredibly focused on his game. He won 2 out of three, all against kids that were a good two years older than he was.
It was fun, watching my normally boisterous boy sitting so still, seeing the wheels turning in his head and occasionally chewing a nail as he tried to figure out his next move.
I was proud of him and better yet, he was proud of himself.
***
It's been a longggg day. I'm a tuckered chicklet and looking forward to an evening of plain old vegitating.
I've got some email to respond to, a phone call or twelve to make and then I'm chillin' (to use my sons' term).
Not a whole lot going on this weekend, probably a movie with the kidlets and a trip to Barnes and Noble. I have a few things I need to look for. My Gramps has requested a book on the deaths of movie stars (??) so that might be interesting to try and find.
Happy Friday!
N. ***addendum*** For the record, I have had the song Everlong by the Foo Fighters in my head all damned day, that and Mad World as sung by Gary Jules on Donnie Darko. "Only thing I'll ever ask of you, gotta promise not to stop when I say when...." That is all.

6:42 p.m. - 2007-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged