nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goodness

I sat tonight, looking out the window, breathing in the humid warmth of a cup of tea while watching the new trend our weather has taken.
Instead of the mammoth, fluffy flakes that were drifting down so softly in the early part of the weekend, we're enjoying snow so fine it looks like glitter, sprinkling like grains of sugar over the soft blanket of snow that's lying around.
The way these tiny frozen crystals catch the light...it's beautiful in a very cold and fragile manner. It's bitterly cold, the kind of cold that steals your breath as soon as you step into it. There's a brisk wind singing through the trees and down my lane, enough to freeze the tears it drew to my eyes as I waited for the dog to finish in the yard.
The street's enjoying dancing whirligigs of snow. It reminds me of the way the dirt flits over the bases on the boys' ballfields when it's really dry in the summertime.
Funny how completely different seasons can have such similar occurences.
I'm waiting for Spring, waiting for the poking of green through the damp soil, the smell of the sun heating the pavement, the buds that'll appear suddenly on some random morning on the lilacs that line my home.
Now, I'm sitting in the quiet of my bedroom, wrapped in the black that comes with lights-out. I bought Norah Jones' new cd today and I'm thinking I like it quite well. I can hear Graciedog's license ching-a-linging against the side of the cats' food dish, hoovering up the remnants of the canned cat food I gave them tonight. She's a walking garbage disposal. The boys went down fairly easily tonight, with a minimum of chatter and fuss. They've been asleep now for just a little bit and quiet has descended.
It's how I imagine my house will be once they've grown and gone, all the time. It will be an adjustment.
I'm in a very contemplative mood tonight. Not sure if it's been ushered in by the change in weather but it's not unwelcome.
Took the boys to see Eragon today. We'd read the book and I was interested to see how they'd carry that into a movie. Surprisingly, they did very well. Only a few things missing here and there but we enjoyed it. Ryan loved the dragon-riding sequences immensely.
I enjoyed hearing him laugh.
Life is good.
Happy Sunday.
N.

9:37 p.m. - 2007-01-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged