nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nonsensical ironies

Ironically, I answered an ad about a male beagle mix today. The irony is that eventually, after the back and forth typical of email, I found out that the person posting the ad was a girl I worked with at the p.d. named Paula, the lady with the high-pitched beepy voice! Her daughter has just had a baby and it's HER dog. He sounds pretty mellow and is named Reese (like the peanut butter cups). Reese, Gracie...it's an odd coincidence in names as well as owners. I feel pretty comfortable with the idea of taking this dog on some levels because I know this woman, know that she trains dogs and trust that since she knows my boys (heck, we worked together for four years!) she wouldn't try to set me up with a pooch who might hurt them.
It's ironic too because it's been probably 2.5 years since I've spoken to her and now, out of the blue, about a dog?
It's just...ironic all the way around.
A sign, maybe. We'll see. I get to meet the puppydog tomorrow, without the boys because I don't want to get their hopes up in case (weird gut feelings here but I don't think this will be a problem) it's not a good fit.
In other news, it was a beautiful afternoon finally. The morning was frigid, with temps hovering around 13 degrees. By noon, it was settling closer to mid-30's and by 5 this evening it was mid-40's. Comfy weather and certainly better than 13!
This weekend is supposed to be warmer and rainy, and while I'm not looking forward to the mud, I'm going to enjoy warmer temps.
I'm thankful for the good wishes and the thoughts you've left in my notes. Ultimately, in the long run, some of you may be right---I may not be able to refrain from writing somewhere, it just won't be here. I just don't feel free here any longer, some of it because there will forever be a chance that ThatCousin might come back to visit and that means I can't ever truly just be me again in this space.
That's a really uncomfortable feeling for me. I hate that because for such a long time, it was a place of solace for me and a safe place. Blows donkey dick, to be blunt.
I caught my cat being a dork today (in a total change of subject here).
I've wondered how cat hair keeps ending up in the bathroom sink but figured that one of the kitties had been up on the counter while we were out and about. I've also had to turn off the water in there more than once (can you see where this is going?) as it's one of those faucets that is a singular handle that moves to one side or the other to allow water to flow and is easily disturbed...
easily disturbed by a cat intent on turning it on so she can get a drink!
My Freya, my little brownish-grey tiger, has found out that she can rub her face on that handle which will slightly turn on the water and then she's got a fresh drink o'water.
I caught her up there today, doing exactly that and then turning to look at me like I was intruding on HER space...it cracked me up. Crafty little fur-person.
I learn something new every day, in some form or another.
Happy Thursday, all.

N.

10:34 p.m. - 2007-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged