nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sick boy

Ry-guy has been sick today. He woke up fine, was fine yesterday too but by 11am today he was complaining that his head hurt. When I felt his forehead, he was burning up. Immediately dispatched him to bed after having him take some Tylenol Meltaways and he spent several hours there, kicking back and watching toons.
Then he began complaining that his eyes hurt,he was really flushed and seemed beyond lethargic so I drug out the thermometer as my Mom-lips weren't registering a number (heh) and about fell over. His temp was 103.7!
Now, like most moms, I can handle my sons' vomiting (for the most part), as long as it isn't severe. Temperatures scare the everliving crap out of me when they spike. I think 103.7 equals spike.
So it was off to the ER because I'm not monkeying around with temps that high.
He slept for the entire time we were in the ER, waking only when prodded by the doc and nurses.
There's no real diagnosis---rapid strep test came back negative and his ears are fine. Throat is a little red but nothing terrible and his lungs sounded clear. However, as we all know, temps mean there's infection SOMEWHERE...the ER doc gave him an antibiotic that I can't get filled until tomorrow as the pharmacy was closed by the time we got out of there and told me to keep dosing him with Tylenol. He also wrote him off school on Monday.
Just weird. I hate it when my kids are sick, more so when I don't know what the heck is wrong with them! That's just plain scary to me.
Ryan's curled up in bed, sleeping (when I peeked in, he still had his little glasses perched on his nose so I tucked them in their case) and still really warm to me. I'm hoping the antibiotic tomorrow (after 9am, of course! crappy hours) helps break this down.
In other news, there is no other news. I gave the Reese-dog his first bath today. Does that count?
Ipod Shuffle comin' up:
1)Hello---Evanescence
2)Crush---Garbage
3)Adult Education---Hall and Oates
4)Something to be---Rob Thomas
5)Gypsy---Fleetwood Mac
6)Jolene---Mindy Smith
7)Zoe Jane---Staind
8)Key Largo---Bertie Higgins
9)Happiness in Slavery---Nine Inch Nails
10)Affair of the Heart---Rick Springfield
11)How Long Has This Been Going On---Ambrosia
12)Patience---Guns n Roses
13)Show Me Love---Kate Havnevik
14)Smack That---Akon
15)Fade to Black---Metallica
16)Big Empty---Stone Temple Pilots
17)Copacabana---Barry Manilow
18)Citadel---Anna Nalick
19)It's A Kind of Magic---Queen
20)Bloodhound Gang---Bad Touch

Happy Saturday.
N.

8:33 p.m. - 2007-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged