nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ending flag football

It's been a nice, quiet weekend, one of the few we've had lately. It seems sometimes as if we've hit the time of year when things start to go into overdrive and it'll only go downhill from that, I'm afraid.
This weekend, though, was lovely.
Friday night was spent vegging, watching Transformers (a good flick) and playing Monopoly until I had hotels and Income Tax flowing out my eyeballs. Fun stuff with a houseful of competitive boys!
Saturday morning, bright and early, we were off in the chill air to enjoy Trevor's last game of flag football. It's been two months worth of fun for him, drawing to a close. He's loved every minute of it.
They had their final game (lost, as has been the majority of their games but jubilant anyway) and then were treated to lunch at BW's after. Both coaches gave a short speech on how they'd enjoyed having our group of boys together, how they'd all worked hard and played harder, how they hoped to see them all next year. The team as a whole had signed three footballs and the coaches awarded them under the following categories: Best Leadership, Best Overall Offense AND Defensive Player and Most Improved.
Trevor received the one for Most Improved. He was over the moon, more I think because he received something in front of his teammates than anything else. His crater-like dimples stayed put for hours. Happy ending to his season.
Saturday evening we hit the dollar theater for a showing of Ratatouille (which has now become my second most favorite, after Finding Nemo) and then made dinner at home (chicken quesadillas with assorted other munchies thrown in by the boys).
Bedtime was a welcome thing as I was ready for the shutdown that came with.
Today...today was pretty quiet, for the most part. Trev, Ry and I spent the morning in our jammies, bumbling around the house. I managed to get some cleaning done and then it was time to retrieve Bran from his father.
Minor drama there, with waiting for them to get home for 45 minutes and inadvertantly waking Bran's stepmother when I called to try to find out where they were. That resulted in a very grumpy ex (not my fault! he should have let me know he was going to be late/she was sleeping!) and a rather disjointed discussion of Bran's weekend then home to start the we-have-school-tomorrow sludge.
***
I'm loving the cooler temps and the crispness the air holds now. I walk the dog every evening and Reese-dog loves to play in the piles of leaves that mound the sides of the streets. Without fail, I get at least one disapproving glare as he demolishes a hill of leaves that someone has carefull raked to the curb for clean-up. I feel like sending an apology postcard for my playful pooch. I figure the wind would have done as much damage before the clean-up crews come through as he does scampering into them.
***
I'm rusty and out of practice with the whole update thing. I suppose as I go along, I'll settle back into some semblance of a rhythm.
Happy Sunday.
N.

10:21 p.m. - 2007-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged