nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scouting for food (competitively)

We were up bright and early this morning, pounding the pavement and all sorts of doors whilst collecting canned goods for the annual "Scouting for food" event. I think I've touched on it in the past---the boys go door-to-door and collect food for our local food bank. It's one of those things that, most importantly, gives back to the community and helps the boys learn to help others. If you know boys, though, you also know it's a grand opportunity for some friendly competitions, in their eyes. It's all about who can get the most cans, ring the most bells, move the fastest through a neighborhood. It's all in good fun and the boys (at least the ones that were in my van this morning) take it all in stride so it made the morning fly by.
My aunt kept my sons for a bit following that, not only to reward them for their outstanding report cards (OUTSTANDING!!!) but also so that I could jet over to ToysRUs to pick up a few things that were on sale this weekend.
Ry's big into Tech Deck stuff, Trevor wanted the electronic version of Deal Or No Deal and Brandon wants Risk---all were on sale this weekend so my total was less than $40 for all of it, when it would normally have been twice that, at least.
I'm trying to get a bit of a jump on Christmas so it's not so stressful at the last minute (remember me saying this last year, Steve?).
The younger two are currently romping through the woods with their Scout group until 8pm tonight so I'm going to take the time that they're gone and clean!! Bran is hiding out in his room, determined to stay out my range, I think. What I'd REALLY like to do is take a nap. I'm beat!!
***
Out of the blue today my brother K. called. I'm not exactly sure why he called (he usually has some sort of trigger) but it was nice to talk with him for a few. I really do wish we were closer but I don't know if that's ever going to come to fruition.
He had a birthday last week, turned 38. My, how the time passes!
I have things I need to accomplish while the boys are gone. I'll be back later!
N.

2:24 p.m. - 2007-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged