nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Of leaves and boys

They posted the honor rolls in the newspaper here today and Brandon is oh-so-happy to see his name there. We clipped it out and framed it with magnets on the fridge. He's pumped. He didn't want to call and tell his dad, however, because he's afraid his stepmother will answer the phone and ruin his happy day.
I told him maybe he can save it for the next time he has a quiet moment with his dad and to not let her cast any shadow on his happiness today.
Inside...well, inside my Mama Bear was grumbling just a little.
I managed to get the front yard raked (finally!) this evening. I've been putting it off, partly due to laziness and partly wanting the rest of the leaves to fall off the damned tree so I don't have to do it 12 times. Thanks to a decent breeze today, said tree is bare and I got productive. Our city has this nifty little machine that they drive around and suck up piles of leaves with, if you rake them out to the side of the street. My yard, for the moment, looks all clean-swept and leaf-free. For the moment. All it's going to take is a strong wind or a rambunctious pooch (like Reese) to blow it all asunder. My poor dog loves to demolish piles of leaves. It's like watching a furry toddler go bananas because it's Fall.
Ryan cracked me up. We have one rake (something I need to change because they can sure as HECK get out and help me next time!) and since I was using it, he comes trundling out with a broom and proceeds to sweep the leaves across my yard. I laughed so hard I probably looked like I was having an asthma attack, all hunched over and red-faced.
Trevor's rapidly discovering his inner teen. Bran hasn't given me much trouble with back talk, etc. so it's sort of a surprise to see it coming out in Trev. He's driving me batty. Has a comeback for every-frickin'-thing I say and some days, he's lucky I'm not my mother. She was a mouth-wacker. I can't tell you how many times (until I turned 13 and started hitting back) I got my mouth smacked for something I didn't even KNOW was talking back.
They're all happily curled up with their assorted books as today was also Library Day and it's quiet. And as soon as I typed that, I heard a whoopee cushion being utilized in the younger two boys' room. *sigh*
Ah well. I feel a strange desire to attack some ice cream anyway...they'd probably enjoy it too.
Happy Wednesday!
N.

7:12 p.m. - 2007-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged