nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving catchup

Thanksgiving was a day filled with family and food. Although it went well, we spent several days away from home and are extraordinarily happy to be in our own space again. Reese-dog, in particular, seemed to come unglued when we pulled into our driveway. I've never seen him pop out of the Mom-wagon quite so swiftly.
It's gotten cold here, to the degree that everything seems to hold it's frost far into the day. The spiderwebs in my lilacs were frozen when we got home this morning and it was like looking at gossamer iced thread, twisted this way and that in their complex patterns. I took down the scarecrows, deposited the pumpkins in the back garden area to (hopefully) regenerate more next year and have stripped all Fall-ish decor from our front yard. However, Christmas is going to have to wait a bit still. I'm not feeling the spirit yet and am not overly motivated to seek it out just yet. I know that some people begin Christmas prep before Thanksgiving is even over but I just don't think I have that in me. I've never braved the crowds on Black Friday, although I've thought about it, just for the experience. Most of it boils down to not having a lump sum of money to just blow, I'm pretty sure. In recent years, I've gotten used to stretching my Christmas shopping out a bit and that's working just fine, thanks!
So. No Christmas in our house yet.
***
I can hear the boys at the kitchen table playing Sorry. They spent quite some time trying to decide whether to play that or Risk and it sounds like Sorry was a good choice. There's something about my sons laughter that warms my heart and my tummy and makes me laugh too. A good kind of contagious.
I hope everyone had a great Turkey Day and enjoyed time with their loved ones. I have lots of catching up to do!!
Happy Saturday.
N.

12:59 p.m. - 2007-11-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged