nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A snapshot

It's been a very quiet weekend in Casa de Nixtress. Other than a few necessary errands (like grocery shopping and bill-paying), we spent the entire weekend home, doing only what we wanted.
Today was designated as the day we were going to erect all Christmas decorations and then remove the debris that occurs in the aftermath of such an exercise.
I can't remember when I've laughed so much. The boys decided this was the year they were "man enough" to conquer the construction of our tree. We have a fake one, not only because I have enough mess to deal with and because I don't see the sense in cutting one down for a few weeks when it takes years to grow a new one, but also because I'm allergic to certain pines. SO. Bran and I drag the dusty, beat up box in from the garage that contains all the pieces parts necessary for our tree. They pop the flaps and begin unloading said box. I make sure each year that I match up all the branches with like marked/sized branches to make assembly the next year easier. I try explaining that to my sons, who're enthusiastically tossing branches willy nilly. Finally I get through to them and they sheepishly begin trying to figure out what color is on what branch and which ones are longer than others. The funny part starts when they begin placing the branches in the little slots on the base. It's a little like watching Twister, without the flippy-doodle or the big colored dots. They are all twined around one another, each determined that the others wouldn't tack on more than he! Each of them ends up on his butt at least once. Ryan reaches on his tippy toes and barely manages to attach the topmost part of the tree to the base. Trevor's on his knees, trying to "fluff" the lower limbs. Brandon bends down on hand and knee to let Ry stand on his back in order to "fluff" the upper branches. I have my very own group of male cheerleaders in my living room, preparing for a Christmas dismount.
I start wrapping the tree in lights, standing behind it and handing it to Bran in front of the tree. This leaves the tree looking...indescribable and after unwinding the lights, strand by strand, I just walk in circles around the tree like I normally do. While I'm doing that, the boys have begun digging into the depths of my plastic bins, hauling out decorations and bulbs. I peer around the edge of my green hell and see my sons sprawled out on the floor, reminding each other of the background of some of the ornaments. Ry laughs, as usual, when he sees the cinnamon cookie ornament we made that still bears his tiny tooth marks because he thought they were REAL cookies. Trevor grimaces at the cd coated in gluey glitter that he made in Kindergarten. Brandon smiles quietly at the ornament he made for me three years ago, with his picture imbedded in it. It was the year he moved in with me, for good.
After piling on all the ornaments, the boys decide they're exhausted and drape themselves on the various pieces of furniture to laugh at the Dr. Demento's Christmas I have playing on the stereo while I put up the rest of our decor.
This is the first year that Reese-dog will spend with us and I'm not sure what he will and won't mess with so I'm making sure I put things just out of his reach and that's a source of amusement too. I normally line the hearth of the fireplace with a collection of snowmen but that's so NOT going to happen as I don't want to give Reese a target so I settle them on top of the entertainment center instead. The hearth looks bare but until I know it's safe, that's how it'll stay.
When it's all said and done, we've transformed our living area into a Christmas wonderland and my boys stand proudly in front of the fireplace, looking at the tree they've done the majority of the work on.
I stand beside them, proudly looking at my sons and knowing that the brunt of MY work is nearly done.
A good day and one I'll tuck away inside my heart.
Happy Sunday.
N.

9:47 p.m. - 2007-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged