nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blue and Gold ceremony

Trevor and Ryan had their Blue and Gold ceremony tonight, to celebrate the end of their time in Cub Scouts and their "crossing over" into Boy Scouts.
So strange, to look at my youngest two boys and see how they've changed. The centerpieces at the table consisted of collage pictures of all the boys in their troop as they've gone through all the different levels, throughout their time in Scouts. Next to pictures of my boys as Bears were pictures of them this year, as Webelos and the differences were incredible.
My fresh-faced, small sons morphed into near-adolescence in no time flat.
There was the obligatory potluck prior to the actual ceremony. Ryan ate very little as is his norm (Mr. Picky Pants) and Trev and Bran scarfed everything (typical for them as well).
Once all the news was given and aknowledgements for the festivities were take care of, the ceremony began.
Our leader stood, recited a Scout poem that detailed a boy's journey through the levels and gave a bit of a personal note about her experiences leading our sons. She also explained the Arrow of Light, what it stood for and as she went through it, an assistant leader lit a candle. She asked each of the boys and their parents to come to the front and presented the boys with a pin and the parents with a patch, which we exchanged at her urging. I teared up at this point, typical Me. I'm sentimental as a day is long and things like this move me.
Just after the Arrow of Light ceremony, they had their Crossing Over ceremony.
Let me digress for a minute. Between the Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts, someone decided to erect a wooden bridge, small and portable yet very sturdy, to be used in this ceremony. It signifies the boys' ascension from Cub to Boy Scouts and the growth that brought them to this point. It's a literal symbol of their "crossing over".
I did okay with Ryan but when Trevor walked across that wooden bridge and was handed his book and new Pack number, I teared up yet again.
For him, especially, nothing comes easy. For him, Scouts has meant belonging, being part of a group, being just like everyone else. I've mentioned it before, with the different sports he's been involved in. He takes such joy in just being part of a whole and it makes my heart soar to see him fit, like all the other pieces to that puzzle. It's not about popularity or being part of a "clique". It's plain acceptance on a basic level.
Following that part of the ceremony, the troop as a whole presented the boys with a decorative arrow. It was very nice, with feathers hanging and their names engraved as well as the Cub motto and oath, to go along with their Arrow of Light badges and pins.
I think my boys enjoyed those nearly as much as the ceremony itself.
I don't know if they'll continue all the way through Boy Scouts. I don't even know if they'll decide to finish out this year. I do know that Scouts has given them a feeling of accomplishment, has taught them a few things about community service and personal growth and has given them a level of comradery that I'm glad they didn't miss out on.
I'm proud of them always.
Tonight, they were proud of themselves.
Happy Sunday.
N.

8:09 p.m. - 2008-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged