nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quickie catchup

What a whirlwind!
Made it through Valentine's Day parties with nary a blip and have been chasing my life and holding on by the strings, lemme tell you.
Let's see if I can hit the highlights.
I saw Gone Baby Gone (written by the same author as Mystic River) and was blown away. It's one of those movies that stays with you, after. A movie that makes you ask the question "What would I do...."
The boys brought home stellar interim reports. Brandon and Ryan both had no weekday television because of not-so-stellar report cards and the agreement was that they had to improve by interims if they wanted to get that back. (It's not a huge thing---I don't allow the televisions to be turned on until 7pm anyway, but they all enjoy half an hour of bedtime t.v. before lights out). Brandon managed all A's! I was so proud of him. He worked hard to bring those grades home. Not that his grades are ever completely horrible but all of my kids are capable of A's and B's. It's alllll about effort.
So. Good grades equalled extra rentals at Blockbuster and they were happy campers through the weekend. A good thing because I was sick all weekend. Literally, tossing-my-cookies, can't-get-outta-bed sick. I feel much better today but took it fairly easy.
The younger two had a Scout meeting tonight and were overjoyed to find that I'd signed them up for the campout in March where they get to do indoor rock climbing. Eek!
I am floored by how much things cost anymore!! I mean, I know about grocery bills and car repairs and utilities...but SCOUTS. Lord. To recharter, pay for Summer camp deposits and for this campout, my grand total was $160!!! That was one heck of a chunk of money, as far as I was concerned. Thankfully, I paid half and will pay the other half this next week but still. Jeezopetes.
I'm glad that my boys are involved in Scouts and sports, think that it really helps keep them out of trouble and involved in activities that will help form their characters and give them some direction but SHEESH. Why's it gotta cost so much??
I have a Parent Mentor meeting tomorrow evening. I wasn't able to attend the last one so I need to play catch up.
We've had some pretty spectacular snow lately too. I've actually loved it, all fluffy and clean. I am, however, more than ready for some Spring-like weather. I'm looking forward to some green, some flowers, the return of the birdies...
Bran's birthday is coming up in just a bit. 11 days. He'll be 14. Craziness. It's obscene how quickly they've grown up on me! We had to schedule his classes for his freshman year last week (FRESHMAN YEAR!!!!) and I sat there, feeling like I'd missed something somehow. 9th grade, already.
Amazing.
Okay, I'm about wiped for the day. I have more to say but will have to do so another time.
Happy Monday, all!!
N.

10:09 p.m. - 2008-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged