nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Leap Day aka ADD Day

Today is one of those days where I can't seem to figure out where my head's at.
I'm just all over the place. Is it possible to only have ADD one day every couple of weeks? Because that's really how it feels today.
I caught myself, mid-thought, just staring into space this afternoon, sort of lollygagging my day away. And when I tried to remember what I was so lost in thought about, for the life of me I couldn't remember!
I'm losing my marbles, I think.
***
Bran is going to be 14 in about a week. I'm trying to think of something fun to do with him that weekend, something to help him feel as special as he is. Trev and Ry will be at their very first Boy Scout campout (in cabins, with a day trip to an indoor rock climbing place and hiking, etc) so for the majority of the weekend, it'll just be Bran and me.
The hard part is now that he's older, Chuck E. Cheese just isn't the place to be (hehe). Plus, he's at this awkward stage where he wants to have best buddies like nobody's business but it still fairly socially bumbly. It hurts my heart some days because he tries so hard, probably TOO hard, just to make those connections that can be so easy for other kids. Plus, (and this isn't necessarily a bad thing) he's sort of nerdy, in the smart-likes-to-read-knows-random-facts-just-starting-to-seriously-consider-girls way so that makes things weird for him too. Unfortunately, kids today are trying to mature way too fast and half the boys in his grade resemble seniors in high school in their lingo, dress and mannerisms. It's scary, in a lot of ways. I'm glad that Bran's fairly age-appropriate but it does create difficulties for him. I have to say that I'd prefer his version of "growing pains" over the pregnancy scare or drinking-and-drugs kind, though!
SO. See? So easily distracted. Birthday. Back to the birthday. I'm going to take him to the mall and let him pick out some new Hollister or American Eagle gear, at some point hit Barnes and Noble (he loves it nearly as much as I do) and then maybe dinner but I thought it would be nice, too, for him to do something with a friend, maybe. Maybe I'll omit dinner. Maybe I'll just do all that on Sunday when the younger two are home and let him have Saturday.
Or maybe I should just talk to him and find out what kind of input he can give me, before I start planning. He might surprise me.
He's going to his dad's tonight, for the first time in nearly a month. I know he's looking forward to seeing his father and I hope like hell TheEx helps buffer HisBeastlyWife and doesn't let her ruin Bran's time there.
***
I've been talking to this guy from Oregon. Yes, I know. Oregon is forever away from me and maybe that's the point. He's a nice guy, and he makes me think. We've had many lengthy conversations about all sorts of things and he challenges the way I think and some of my opinions. It's...enlightening. I feel like there are long-dormant parts of my psyche that are beginning to wake up. Maybe it's just the fact that I'm having conversations about something other than Yu-Gi-Oh, Scouts, homework, chores, and bathroom humor.
New friends are good for me.
***
I'm tired of figuring out what to make for dinner. Honestly, there are only so many ways you can cook the foods that Ryan will eat and I'm exhausted even thinking about it. I think for the week of my birthday (March 13th, for those who might care) I'm going to be a lazy bum and make up easily prepared and frozen stuff like lasagna and meatloaf, stuff I can make in advance (this weekend) and then pop in the oven without thinking about it. That way, I get a vacation from meal planning.
That's a nice birthday gift to myself, don'tcha think?
Bah. I'm babbling. Happy ADD/Leap Day to one and all.
N.

3:57 p.m. - 2008-02-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged