nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boys and Girls and Gramps and Spring

I was taking a look at my favorites list today and decided it's time to clean house. I've kept a lot of people on my list, in hopes that eventually they'll update or because I really hated to delete them because they really are fantastic writers.
There are some who are going to remain because I just can't stomach taking them off yet (so sad, I know) but most are going to be put into a special folder in my bookmarks, to be checked back on every now and again in hopes that they might someday return.
I remember when I first came to Dland---I used to randomly click names, check out odds and ends diaries and seemed to always come up with a new favorite. It was part of what I loved about Dland, the gathering of (sometimes) like-minded people living such dissimilar lives, the assortment of tastes that ran the gamut from norm to not. Then Dland went into a downward spiral. Many of the Dlanders I enjoyed reading jumped ship, moving to places where tech support was actually supported and where glitches weren't a daily thing, or where trolls weren't so easily tolerated. It seemed, for quite some time there, as if Dland was completely populated by teens or people who started a journal and then left after 2-3 entries. I left for awhile too, disillusioned and angsty about my own space.
So now I'm looking to repopulate my favorites. I'm looking for a few good reads. I'm not sure if I'm going to find them but if I'm going to stay here, I need to renew my sense of "community".
****
In other news, Trev and Ry went on their very first camping trip with their Scout group. They were supposed to go in March but then we had a very nice blizzard and it was cancelled, much to my relief and their chagrin!
They left yesterday evening, all giddy and goofy and full of energy. I'm wondering how it's going. There was (according to TheLyingWeathermen) a fairly substantial storm up that-a-way yesterday. I didn't receive a phone call though so I'm guessing they're okay. Hoping so, too.
I'm looking forward to their return tomorrow morning. I'm going to enjoy hearing about all the things they loved and hated, all the rain and the mud and the boy-ish things they got to do.
Bran's at his dad's this weekend, having left home on Friday with an anxious heart. He's been crushing on this girl who's in three of his classes at school (we'll call her FlirtyGirl). She was supposed to share her cell number with him but never did and so when he was messaging back and forth with her on Myspace, he asked again for it and she never answered him. He has had me checking his Myspace all weekend, in hopes she'll respond. I'm thinking she's behaving as a typical 8th grade girl, enjoying the attention just enough to keep leading him on but not really interested in him.
It breaks my heart because I know it's really bothering him. I know, down deep, I can't keep him from being hurt and that he will learn from it, but that doesn't make it easier to stand back and watch. Brandon's just still pretty naive when it comes to girls and he hasn't yet learned how mean they can truly be.
***
My daffodils are up, my lilacs are beginning to form their tiny little flower babies that will grow to be the fragrant blossoms I adore, my lilies and irises are poking through the top layer of soil in all my beds...I think it's safe to say that Ohio has finally begun Springing to life. We had some glorious weather this last week and the rain and colder temps this weekend better not have an ill effect on all my new greenery!
And! Ready for this?
Yours truly has been chosen to be PTO president next year. How did THAT happen? I'm sort of...discombobulated by this. I'm not technically the cookie cutter version of a PTO mom!
This should be interesting. I've asked if I can have a co-chair, because there are occasions that time is an issue for me and they've agreed to allow that. Should make for an interesting year!
Gramps...is Gramps, just a little more crotchety. I worry more now than I used to because I see him slipping more every day. After he drove into the building not too long ago, my aunts agreed he should stop driving. No one had the cojones to step up and tell him that, though, so he continues to drive. He had to have a tow truck come jump his battery last week and after it was started, he put it into reverse and started to pull out. WITHOUT LOOKING BEHIND HIM!!! He backed RIGHT INTO the tow truck!!!
Thankfully, there was no damage to the truck, little damage to his car and no injuries. It shook him up a bit but I don't think he's decided to stop driving yet. *sigh*
All in all, Life goes on, some good, some bad.
It's Spring though. That's a plus!
Happy Saturday.
N.

3:24 p.m. - 2008-04-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged