nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lots of F's at work

Let's see.
Where to start?
We had a fantabulous 4th, filled to the brim with fundraising, family, food and fireworks! Ha! I'm amusing even myself today :P
Trev and Ry participated in a Scout fundraiser that basically just involved suiting up and walking with wagons through the throngs of people gathering to watch fireworks on Friday. They sold hot dogs, popcorn, soda, chips and candy and made a killing because who really thinks to pack snacks to go to the fireworks? Afterwords, we sprawled in chairs at the side of our Momvan, oohing and aahing over the bursts of color. My camera has a nifty feature for fireworks that I finally figured out how to use but of course, my computer is too slow, too old and too full to even bother trying to suck the pictures off my camera so I'll simply put them to disk for now and save them until my new computer is back up and running. *sigh*
We spent lots of time not only with extended family but with ourselves, as well. It was nice to have some time with me and my boys, enjoying a holiday that emphasizes our freedoms.
Bran had to spend part of it with his paternal contributor but that was expected and went smoothly enough.
And Oh! the food. BBQ all over and lots of other goodies to go with. I made 7 layer salad and a creamy cake topped with strawberries to take to the larger family get together and it was lovely. Full gullets and lots of family time are just what I needed to make it actually FEEL like Summer for the first time this year.
Strangely enough, in spite of all of that, it's been a fairly quiet weekend and I'm enjoying a continuation of that today. I haven't much on my agenda, other than basic housekeeping and maybe taking the boys fishing. Trev is amped to try out some new lure he picked up at the Fin and I wouldn't mind a leisurely day next to water.
I have a few "head things" I need to work through.
Gramps does, indeed, have prostate cancer. He goes in on the 16th for a bone scan and a cat scan, to see how far/if it's spread. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. My aunt Harpie (because that's how I've begun to think of her) has begun throwing her propaganda around, denouncing the use of iodine for these scans because they can cause bad things. The man has cancer, for fuck's sake. How much worse can the iodine make that?? She feels strongly about homeopathic medicine and I can't say that it doesn't have a place or use BUT he needs these scans and I don't think the iodine is the thing we need to worry about killing him right now.
In addition to that, I've been offered a job that I think I may have to turn down. Not only will it be making less than what I'm making now, but it's going to involve gas which we all know is priced ridiculously right now. The downside to rejecting this offer is that it's with an agency I would not be ashamed to be affiliated with, that might have some longevity to it and that caters to my need to take care of people.
SO. Some "head things" to work through.
The boys are great, I'm (for the most part) peachy and it's sunshiney today.
Can you feel my inner optimist trying to keep her head above water?
I hope everyone had a safe and wonderful holiday weekend. For those who know that I mean it, know that I'm thinking of all of you fondly.
Happy Sunday.
N.

9:53 a.m. - 2008-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged