nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Postcrossing.com

I found a new site today, something I think is going to be very fun.
I'm one of those kooky people that loves to get mail. Love, love, love.
I was the kid who had 6 different penpals going at one time, just so I could get mail from places other than Smalltown, Ohio.
Due to circumstance (and getting older), I lost track of those penpals but will always remember how much I enjoyed not only opening the mailbox and seeing cool AirMail envelopes but also the process of actually writing the letter. I think, in today's day and age, with all the technological advances we've made, letter-writing is becoming a lost art. People email EVERYTHING and there's something about a handwritten letter that means something to me.
I have letters that my Grams and I wrote back and forth when I was a kid, letters that I cherish now because she's not with me anymore. I have letters from penpals when I was 8, from places like Germany and France and England, detailing silly things such as Barbies and who was the cutest movie star but that are still cool to me because I may never be able to travel to places like that.
So this site I found, Postcrossing.com, is cool because it's very similar to the old-fashioned penpal idea but is, instead, postcards. Ideal for people who don't want a huge commitment (like an actual penpal) but want to send and receive postcards from other places.
I signed up and my first batch of postcards go out tomorrow. I'm like a stupid little kid, all giddy at the thought of mail.
I guess I haven't grown up as much as I thought :)
Happy Wednesday.
N.

7:33 p.m. - 2008-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged