nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Brain Drain

It seems like forever since I've typed anything with any substance in this blank white space.
To be completely honest, it probably HAS been forever. A month, at least.
No excuses, just Life.
Too much going on and not enough time to take care of it all, at least not the way I'd like to. It doesn't feel like I have any "me" time anymore and that's not a good thing.
I've got one too many hats on, I guess. I can't complain too loudly as most of it has it's own form of reward but it certainly does mix things up a bit.
So! On to the news.
Radiation with Gramps has gone better than expected. He's tolerating better than we thought he might and that's a plus. He's tired but overall, doing okay. I'm curious to see, after it's all done, how it's impacted his cancer. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
The boys are fabulous. Trevor has been pushing a bit in regard to his schoolwork but just a bit. Some of it's motivation, some of it's lack of proper time management, some of it's just plain laziness. Ryan, on the other hand, is blowing my socks off. Boywonder has ALL A's!!! How splendorific is that? I'm over the moon and he's walking around like a little rooster, strutting his stuff. He's got his first real crush kicking right now, a gal new to our school this year named Asia. She's adorable, have to give him credit. It's been rather amusing to see him turn colors when she passes him in the hall. (heh)
Brandon is doing well. I can feel him pulling away in bits and pieces and it's heartwrenching. We've been extremely close and it just feels wrong for him to want to have parts of his life he doesn't share with me.
I know, I'm shaking my head too as I type that. It's a normal thing, to a degree, for him to want to have broader horizons. I know it's healthy too but I worry that he'll go in the complete opposite direction and I'll lose track of the things that are important to him or that he'll shut down on me. I've been lucky to this point, he's NOT been a typical teen.
And I love him. He's my buddy. There's a bittersweet edge to watching him become so-much-more a young man. It's more than just the build, his Shaggy-esque hairs on his chin (I jokingly have asked him where Scooby is), the fine veins that are replacing the baby pudge on his arms. Mentally, he's growing up and away from me and it throws me a bit.
Ryan's hamster, Nibbler, has yet AGAIN Houdini'd her way out of her cage. At least when Trev's hamster, Casey, escaped, she was easily caught. Nibbler seems to make it her goal to stay out and free as long as possible. Damned rodent. Having three cats does NOT make it a comfortable situation.
Ryan's heart would be broken to pieces if the cats decided it was "Hamster Hockey" days.
Funny mental image, not-so-funny results.
I'm about ready for a break from PTO. Thankfully, Thanksgiving break might afford me a tiny little vacation from it, then toss me right back into the middle of Santa Shop Madness. For the most part, it's been very rewarding. I'm enjoying the "busy" aspects of it. I'm all about organizing other peoples' crap. It's the crankiness on occasion that I can't handle. I had a mom outrightly lie to me today, get caught in it and then bite my head off about it. Lovely stuff, that.
And drama. Always drama when dealing with groups of women. That's one part of having a group of women friends that I DO NOT miss. Men can be easier sometimes, in that respect.
Lots of good things kicking, though. Our food program that gives food to underprivileged kiddos in our school every Thursday, Mega Night tomorrow night (an evening filled with giant blowup jump-n-bouncy things), our upcoming Santa Shop, Math Night/bake sale/Market Day "Tasting". It's fun organizing all these things! I know, I'm batty, right?
ThatCousin is moving to Alabama the day after Turkey Day. ANDANDAND!! I almost forgot---she's pregnant again. I adore babies but as much a hypochondriac as she is...I'm curious as to what she thinks she's going to do in Alabama. Does she think my aunt is going to drive or fly all that way on a whim? Not happening, economy as it is lately. Plus, she knows NO ONE down there. She already has two darling girls. What is she planning on doing with them when she has no one to drop them off to? They're moving into a 2 bedroom condo (2 bedrooms, with a 7 yr old, a 4 yr old and a soon-to-be-newborn?)...something that blows my mind a bit. I guess technically the girls could share one room and the baby will probably be in their bedroom...but he has two sons too. In the two years they're planning on living there, are the two boys never going to visit?
I just get the feeling that she's not put a lot of thought into this and it's going to come out wrong. Maybe I'll be the wrong one and she'll utilize this opportunity to grow up a little.
*shrug*
I wish the best for her, I truly do. I love her, even when I don't like what she's doing. I worry, too, about the girls. It's a huge distance away and I don't know what ThatCousin will do without the network she's been leaning so hard on up here.
Alritey, I know there are things I'm missing but I've about drained the brain for now.
Happy all-those-days-I-missed and Thursday.
N.

8:13 p.m. - 2008-11-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged