nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fresh

This week was the first back to school after the Christmas break and while we had NO snow over Christmas, we have had two 2 hr delays this week due to snow and bad weather. And I won't even start on the amounts of snow we've had in the last two days because it still hasn't stopped yet!
LOVE Ohio weather :)
I made what I guess can be qualified as resolutions but I'm trying not to think of them as such, because inevitably, when I do, I'll not follow through with them! SO.
I want to live a healthier lifestyle: eat healthier, move more, destress my life and cut out the influences that drag me down.
I want to simplify my life: cut out the clutter, stop buying things we don't use, learn how to say NO!
I want to make forward progress: register for Summer quarter, find a job that pays what I need AND I enjoy, work on my spirituality and continue learning.
Many of these are huge goals but I'm breaking them down into smaller ones so I don't feel overwhelmed. I'm still just a work in progress.
***
The boys are enjoying all the snow. We've probably gotten roughly 6 inches or so by now. They've taken turns with shoveling and in the midst of that, have had more than one snowball fight. I got some cute pictures this afternoon of them, Trevor and Brandon tackling Ry into a drift.
I can't believe how quickly they're changing now. Bran has bigger biceps than some men I know! And he's having to shave weekly now, which is a huge change. He hates it and I just keep reminding him to appreciate this time because before long, it'll be daily.
He's 5 feet 9 and a half inches (and 138 lbs.) now, and it's been an adjustment to look UP to my nearly 15yr old. (15!!! in 2 months!!)
Trevor is 5 feet 1 and a half inches and will be 13 in May. His sense of humor is becoming more mature and expanding.
He still laughs at the "little boy" potty humor and such but it's moving past that too.
I was in Trev's classroom for a belated Christmas party yesterday (the last day of school before Break, Party Day, was cancelled due to ice) and was blown away. He melded in with the other boys, for the most part. Tall and lanky is the best description physically and mentally...he's trying on the teen attitudes and emotions of most of the other boys. I think this was the first time, literally, where Trev has blended nearly completely with a crowd of his peers.
It was awesome in the best sense of that word.
Ryan is still Ryan, although he's growing fast too. He had a med check on Tuesday and stands nearly 4 feet 7 inches now. His teacher is still using words like "quality" to describe his work this year and I can't disagree when he's bringing home straight A's. While I think he's gotten even more ornery this year, I think he's finally begun maturing too. His head just seems to be one straight.
And for the first time, ever, in all of their years in school, this is the first year (knock on wood) that they're all moving through with little trouble. I haven't really had many calls about "boyish" behaviors or issues for any of them.
I'm so blown away at what amazing young men I've been blessed with. I used to say when they were small, as they hit their different milestones, that "this" was my favorite stage: Terrible Two's, finally getting potty trained, starting school, learning to read, etc.
I'm saying it again: this is my favorite stage. They're funny and smart and independent and learning so quickly. We have the best discussions and conversations now, even when they're not so upbeat because I can so clearly see their logic and thoughts shining through. They have opinions, sometimes really STRONG ones and ideas and are beginning to really set goals for their futures...
I'm lucky.
***
I kept my niece Taneil this week for a few hours while her mother had a 3 hr sugar test for her pregnancy and we had such a good time. She's adorable, looks A LOT like my brother Bob. It's funny, to see the genetic links like that. Brother B is being a weinie. He's involved with another girl, even while Taneil'sMom is pregnant with a baby that (he says) may or may not be his. He was involved with this gal WHILE Taneil'sMom was still living at my mom's house with him!! I told him I'm ashamed of him, that's he's not living with integrity and honor.
I know, wasted words, but since no one else will speak truthfully to him, I feel like I have to.
However, I'm determined that since I have no contact with my other niece and nephew because my brother has so hurt their mothers that they want nothing whatsoever to do with ANYONE in our family, I will do my damnedest to stay involved with Taneil and the new baby. Taneil'sMom and I have had many conversations about this and at this point, she's not holding Bob's actions against ME or my boys so I'm hoping this time will be different.
It has to start with me, I guess, this idea of what "family" can be.
***
Okay, I have a Monopoly marathon to participate in so I'm off like a dirty shirt. Last resolution: renew my outletting in my diary, since this truly is the safest place for my thoughts and feelings. It's helped in more ways than I can count.
Happy Weekend, all.

5:27 p.m. - 2009-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged