nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Valentine's Day 2009

There are times I've said I hate Valentine's Day, hate the commercialization of it and how people shouldn't show on just one day how much they love the people in their lives, that they should make sure it's shared all year long.
However, I have to be honest: I'm, deep down, one of the biggest romantics you'll ever meet.
If I were to be 100% completely, absolutely honest, I'd tell you that I believe people can really and truly sweep one another off their collective feet. I'd tell you that I buy into the fairy tale idea of love and romance and tell you all the many ways it can be applied to every day Life.
I'd admit that my heart aches every now and again because I'm still holding on to the idea that somewhere, some day, I'll meet someone that will love me as much as I'll love them and will be willing to believe the sun rises and sets on me.
And my heart aches because shadowing that is my sniggling doubt that it'll ever really happen, as much as I hope it does.
I know what Reality is and I know that it's probably foolish to believe in that sort of fairy tale romance. I know that stories are perfect exactly because they're only stories.
Isn't it romantic, though, to take care of the person you love? To let them know in little ways AND big ways that you're thinking of them and that they matter? Can't romance be expressed by being steadfast and steady, thoughtful and kind and by just being what someone needs you to be?
Gifts are nice, candy and flowers and the like. Don't get me wrong, I'm a girl who enjoys those things too.
I'd really just like someone to curl up with, who understands the romance behind holding my hand, or looking into my eyes when I'm talking to them. Someone who values my kindness of heart, strength of character and big old brain. Someone who understands that when I'm their human alarm clock or make sure they don't have to look for anything because it's always where it's supposed to be....that's romance of a different sort but romance, none the less. It's the quiet sort of romance, the non-showy kind that reminds someone that you love them every day. It's the kind that can live forever and ever, amen, without breaking your budget or making you sweat under the burden of it.
I've watched all sorts of chick flicks lately, big and small romances, showy ones and quiet ones and they all come back to the same thing.
Romance is about the moments in Life that steal your breath away. It can also be the moments that give it back.
Happy Valentine's Day.

6:19 p.m. - 2009-02-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged