nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Roller coaster....of Liiiiiiife oo oo oo

What a rollercoaster 24 hours it's been.
Let's start with the good, shall we?
In no particular order:

1) My mother and sister spent the night last night, safe and sound.

2) My sons are doing very well.

3) The weather is finally turning Spring-like here and I'm loving every. ray. of. sunshine!

4) Ryan was accepted into the gifted program and will be receiving a high school math credit next year for taking Algebra 1 IN 7TH GRADE!! (It's typically a freshman year credit). He's one of only 4 kiddos this year who's being placed in that program. One. Of FOUR!!! "Proud" doesn't even begin to describe.

5) PTO is going smoothly at this point. We're going to begin transitioning in new officers in May and I've managed to fill all officer positions except treasurer.

6) Bran has joined tennis and is loving it, Trev is gearing up for summer baseball and loving that too!
Brandon turned 15 and is gearing up to get his driver's permit in coming months. Trevor will be 13 near Mother's Day (13? ALREADY?) and Ryan is nearing 12.

Not so good?
In corresponding order:

1) My mother and sister spent the night last night because my troubled younger brother got drunk and I think drugged and tried to strangle my mother three times, held a knife to her bf's throat, chased Mom up the stairs to my sister's room and threw Mom back down the stairs. All this after ripping the phones out of the walls, picking up her bird (including cage) and throwing him across the room, shattering a HUGE fishtank by scuffling with Mom's bf and stealing Mom's Perc0cets, which she's been taking because she's been having some odd pains in her belly all week that have completely debilitated her and sent her through CAT scans and ultrasounds.
We don't know where my brother is at this point because he fled the scene. There's a BOLO out for him, for assault, etc. and he's going to enjoy a long visit to jail. I'm concerned that my sister saw all of this, concerned about my mother's weird illness and now her multiple bruises and contusions, worried about my brother and wishing he'd get the help he so desperately needs and worried, too, about his ex gf because she's due to have his second child any day now.

2) Absolutely NOTHING wrong with my sweet boys.

3) Along with Spring-like weather comes Spring rains, which is leaving my yard (and basement) more than a little soupy. And it's making me impatient to start my garden!!

4)I'm concerned that as smart as Ryan is, his emotional maturity isn't as accelerated and I worry that he'll struggle a bit with organization and dealing with this kind of responsibility. I guess they wouldn't opt to put him in, though, if they didn't feel he was capable, right?

5)We're heading into a very busy PTO season, full of end-of-year events and I am trying to keep all the details straight and organized. This has been challenging. Rewarding but challenging.
I find that as we draw closer to an end to my dealings with PTO, the more I realize I'm going to miss it. A strange sort of comraderie, I guess.

6)With the increase in activities, I'm finding I need a clone. The only way possible to be in three places (and sometimes MORE!) at once is to clone myself and I just don't think the world is prepared for that :P
Scheduling is becoming more challenging, to say the least.
I haven't yet wrapped my head around the idea of having 2 teens in just a couple months. I also haven't been able to prepare myself for driving with my eldest. Driving. With Brandon!! I feel like I'm on Sesame Street and watching those words come out of two sets of lips. Unfortunately, unlike Sesame Street, they're not melding!!

Life has been hectic and wonderful and crazy and terrible, all in the span of 24 hours. I guess this is how it is with most everyone, with minor and major deviations. It's almost as if I'm in the middle of a kaleidoscope, adjusting to a viewpoint only to have it changed abruptly.

Organized chaos, Nix style.
Happy weekend.

7:46 p.m. - 2009-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged