nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How come it didn't hurt this much when I was little?

Warning: I'm a whiny baby this morning.

I have a boo-boo.

I woke up late, had to rush the boys through breakfast and getting ready for school and out the door. And in the process of doing so, I forgot my own cardinal rule--pay attention when the front porch is wet. My front porch consists of a smallish deck and when it's rained as much as it has lately, it tends to get slick. And klutzy ass that I am, I stepped onto the welcome mat (that wasn't welcoming me to step on it) and it hydroplaned on the puddle underneath it and across the porch, causing all of my weight to land unceremoniously on my right knee. No preparation, entirely too fast, not even breaking my fall with my hands. Ouch.

To those around the neighborhood, I'm sure it looked funny as hell. Out the door and down I go. I limped to the car, took the boys to school, and then came back home because my knee was hurting like a bitch. After stripping off my pants, I realize not only is it scraped and banged, it's swelling up and developing a LOVELY BLACK bruise. So in spite of the fact that it's chilly, I'm roaming round in public (and at my Gram's) in a jacket and shorts because putting a band-aid on my boo-boo would hurt too. It's huge. And the idea of letting denim rub against it is right up there with the idea of a root canal to me. No thanks.

I'm freezing, and my knee is throbbing, which is leading me to believe I did something more than just bruised and scraped it, and I feel like an idiot. A klutzy one.

The sun is shining and the wind has slowed some, which is a good thing.

Some of the people I read actually have updated, which is also a good thing. Hopefully, if the wind stays down this afternoon, my sons and I will be out with Trev's bday toys.

*trying to perk myself up a little here, can ya tell?*

I'm going to go eat ice cream. That always made scraped knees feel better when I was a kid. And since I have no one here to kiss it better, ice cream is the next best thing.

N.

9:23 a.m. - 2003-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged