nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tales of my weekend

Let me see..where to start.

Friday night I bundled into bed and didn't fall asleep forever, it seemed. And once I did fall asleep I kept waking up thinking I heard the boys. I think I need a life.

Saturday morning my boys came home overflowing with news of their sleepover. Trev said he didn't sleep well either, which I expected, and both boys had a blast. It seems middle of the night scavenger hunts and reading of books by flashlight makes my sons happy. It also seems that twelve tons of junk food wires them up for eons.

We got everything settled down from that excursion, ran a few errands and then trundled off to a Harvest Festival at Malabar Farms.

Dig if you will THIS picture--stupid me in loafers in slick and slimy mud. They parked us out in bufu, and had us hiking across a field, basically. No problem, thought I, I'm a hardy girl. However, in the rush to get things in the house and then head back out, I'd neglected to pay attention to my own footwear. And so, trying to go down a decline that was slick with mud and morning dew, I nearly surfed it on my ass! I managed to somehow avoid that and successfully slogged my way into the event. It was really rather interesting, having people in period dress who told tales, exhibitions, a Civil War encampment and myriad other things and events. Trevor liked the cannons there until they actually went off and then he about jumped out of his skin. I spent money I shouldn't have, on things like blown glass bottles with personally concocted sodas (just so I could have the bottles, of course!) and indian corn, a 3 lb. container of honey and some gourds. I didn't realize how itchy and scratchy hay is on skin until, after the 12th pleading by Ryan, we went on a hayride, meandering around the area. And I had horrible images of losing one of my sons over the edge of the wagon and under the HUGE FLIPPIN' HORSES' feet. Overall, it was a success. The boys enjoyed the heck out of it, and in spite of the mud, so did I.

Work last night consisted of hell on Earth with AnalPatty and a call-off by CindyPerfumeWoman. We had our moments of being not so slow and that was the only saving grace.

Today has been lovely and lazy. Yay.

I'm tired, and not looking forward to another night with Patty. I'm sure I'll survive though. The question is, will she?

Hope everyone else is winding down a good weekend.

N.

10:32 a.m. - 2003-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged