nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things that make me happy

Today I'm making a concerted effort to be positive.

I awoke this morning and found FROST!! Do you know what this means?? All those icky plants that cause my allergies to go bonkers will be dying off!! This is cause for celebrations galore!! And so this sets me on the path of thankfulness and positivity.

I've formulated a list. Ready?

Things that lift my heart and spirits and make me happy to be alive:

The feel of grass on my toes.

Coming home.

Singing in the shower, in the car...singing, period.

Furry beasties.

Finding the perfect gift for those I love.

The smell of good food cooking.

Sunsets and sunrises.

Holding a sleeping baby.

Holding hands.

Climbing into a bed with clean sheets.

Hearing my sons laugh.

The first snow of Winter, the first bursts of color in Fall, the first warm days and first blooms of Spring and the first swim of Summer.

Looking at old pictures and remembering.

Finding a good new author.

Reading a book I can't seem to put down and finally getting to the end.

Hot chocolate with whipped cream and a straw.

Soft cuddly sweaters and plump comforters.

Hard laughs with good friends.

Watching my sons grow into fine young men.

Being outside and realizing that I'm just a little piece of a big puzzle.

Music. All music. Any music.

Pumpkin spice candles and mulled cider.

Other peoples' birthdays!

A clean (but not necessarily uncluttered) house.

Thoughtful people.

Hugs and other signs of affection.

Cool breezes and rainy days, with puddles waiting for splashing.

Target stores!

The opportunity to meet and learn from new people.

I think I forget sometimes to remind myself that there are multitudes of things I'm thankful for. I get lost in the daily drudge of everyday life and happenings and misplace my lust for life in the rut of routines.

Easy thing to do, really, especially when the bad seems to outweigh the good.

So today, I'm reminding myself of the things that make me happy.

Happy Thursday all.

N.

9:36 a.m. - 2003-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged