nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hellacious.

The day from hell. Yep, that's today, in case you didn't know.

It actually started last night, when I couldn't get to sleep for the life of me. I stayed awake, tossing and turning and watching random boob tube, mentally admonishing myself because I knew I had to get up at 5:30ish. Somewhere in the vicinity of midnight or so, some 2.5 hrs after I first laid my tired body down, I finally fell asleep. Can we all guess what comes next? Oh yes. I overslept. REALLY overslept. I normally head out at 6:30 am when I have to be at work at 7. I scrambled out of bed at 6:18. I took the worlds' fastest shower, trying to ignore the fact it was about 15 degrees too cold for comfort, and then threw clothing onto my still wet body. I arrived at work looking like someone's rag mop they hung out to dry. My hair was still dripping even! And I was shivering like a madwoman in spite of all the running because I'd forgotten my jacket. And the nighttime temps have been getting down in the 30's and high 20's here lately. So then I'm scurrying up the sidewalk, Mt. Dew-less, and punch in my door code. No telltale buzz. Try again and still no green light. I punched in that door code about 12 times and finally had to sound the buzzer to the clerks' office so they could manually buzz me in. And for whatever reason (I think just to torture me) it took 'em a good five minutes. I'm standing outside, looking like a really drenched street urchin, freezing my ass off, waiting. The bad part to the door not taking my code? The entire building is door coded. To get from one area to another, you have to punch in your code. And NONE of the doors would take my code. On most days this would give me a complex, but today I figured their system must be screwy. I get clocked in and get buzzed in and get finally INTO the area where I work, where I'm informed that as soon as someone logs into our LEADS system, there's a hit waiting. (brief explanation? a hit is another agency telling us they've got someone there that we have a warrant for)

Lazy ass people.

I managed to make it through the day, Mt. Dew-less, with VickyTheWomanWhoDoesn'tKnowHowToBathe. Seriously. And I don't think it's that she doesn't know HOW. I think it's that she chooses not to. And that's even worse. It was slow and quiet and dead today, making it drag a bit, but it's over now and that's the part that counts.

The college had a hugondo parade today, some 180 entries, which tied up most of our force through the day. The boys loved going and presented their twelve tons of candy for my perusal when I got home from work.

And I'm off at the end of this entry to get the boys spiffied up for my uncle's surprise party.

We won't be there long; I have a appointment tonight with some sleep.

Happy Saturday.

N.

4:26 p.m. - 2003-10-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged