nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

There's a soft layer of snow covering everything outside right now. It looks sort of like the cotton batting my grandmother used in her quilting, fluffy. And it's not overly cold, which makes enjoying it easier.

I worked over for a bit tonight, as Chick-who-wears-her-daughter's-clothes overslept and was late. No biggie, really, I was already there. The only downfall was that HolsterSniffer was also there. She's rapidly becoming my least favorite coworker. I don't think it would be quite so bad if she werent' quite so damn blatant in her badgebunny ways. She might as well just stick a sign on her head that says "Free b.j.'s in the bathroom" and come to work naked.

Not much for excitement work-wise. They served a warrant, dealt with a few fruitloops, had an impound release. All in all, it was snooze-ville. AnalWoman told me several times, in detail, about her husband's broken ankle and her own plethora of ailments. I swear I know more about older woman problems than one almost 29 yr old should. However, perhaps this well aid me when I hit that age. Who knows? At the very least, it's creating good karma. Right?

I work tomorrow as well, again with A.W. I'd much rather spend the night at home playing Go Fish and Old Maid until my hands fall off. Weekends on second shift are dull because we process all the work done on first shift. Officers have until the end of their shift to turn in work and then we clerks get to figure out what the heck to do with it all. And not alot happens on first shift weekends. Therefore, the trickle down theory applies here. We generate more "business" but it's third shift that gets to wade through that.

Enough griping about work.

***

My mother's fiance/bf/whatever the heck you want to call him was arrested at 1 am last night. Apparently, he felt staggering around in the parking lot of a gas station was an appropriate and acceptable activity. And when questioned, he thought it a good idea to tell the officer to stuff himself. Yep, he really said that. He was then taken into custody for his own safety as he was beyond intoxicated and what they consider disorderly. Thankfully, I can say that my mother was NOT the one to sign the "responsible party" paperwork to release him from the jail. I'm a tad worried, though, because I've called her numerous times tonight and have yet to make contact with a live human being. Troubling.

***

Manna...someone tell me what manna is. In the last three days, that particular word has come across in conversation and reading wayyyyyy too many times. So someone save me the effort (and make me smile) and explain in layman's terms what manna is.

On that note, I'm going to sink into bed and be oblivious.

Happy Saturday...oops, I mean Sunday.

N.

12:15 a.m. - 2004-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged