nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

morning observations

"It happens all the time

this crazy love of mine

wraps around my heart

refusing to unwind..."

---Poco

Heard this song last night as I was drifting off to sleep. It's funny, isn't it, how the last thing you hear can still resonate in your head when you wake up?

This morning has dawned cool and clear and vibrant. The sun is sparkling through the trees, lighting up the dew on the grass like tiny crystals. There's some bird outside in the backyard with the cardinals that sings like a baby cries. It's almost disconcerting how similar those two sounds are. Mr.Groundhog is happily enjoying his morning meal, munching away at the weeds in my garden area. It smells so crisp out there, almost Fall-ish but not just yet. I can hear the rumbles of the front end loader that's building a development not far from here but it's far enough in the distance to not be jarring.

Queen Anne's Lace has popped up along the back hill, white and delicate. I remember seeing it along the roadsides in Pennsylvania, watched it fly by as we drove. Seemed out of place on dirty, dusty roads, something so clean and white.

***

Just in the space of overnight, a spider wove a web in the corner of the top dresser drawer. Yuck. I can picture it's cruddy legs crawling all over the clothes inside..gives me the creeps. I suppose there's a strange sort of beauty to it's carefully constructed web. Amazing to me how sturdy the damn things can be considering how delicate the strands that form them are. Just..not in my clothing.

Eek.

***

Trevor wanted chili for breakfast. Strange child. Ryan looked at him like he was batty. I think it's just because it's cool here this morning, put Trev in the mind for something filling and warm. We settled on oatmeal, Trevor with raisins, Ryan without. Ry said raisins are like eating bugs. They float.

Gosh, they make me laugh.

Happy Thursday, world.

N.

7:54 a.m. - 2004-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged