nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My son and his concrete skull

I'm still grumpy. That hasn't faded in the last several hours. I think it's stress more than anything and trying to stretch funds that aren't made of rubber. I'll get over it soon and be back to my nice positive self. In the mean time, bear with me.
Work was sleepy and slow, with a few regulars mixed in for flavor.
Right before I left for work, however, Ryan nearly gave me heart failure. He decided to show Trev one of his "moves" and climbed up on Trevor's shoulders. Then he lost his balance and fell on his head. Head first, hard floor. I don't think there's a worse sound than the sort of sickening thump that comes when your child does a face plant into the floor, not only hurting his head but knocking the breath from him, thereby delaying the follow up screech.
The end result is that he has a nice bruise covering the side of his head and a sweet goose egg. No concussion, no headache. Scared the crap outta me, though. I considered calling off work but went with my Grams old adage that if the swelling was outside, he'd be okay. She always said to worry if you couldn't see swelling after a thump like that--meant it was going inward and that would put pressure on the brain. (She was an awesome nurse!)
The joys of raising boys.
We're set for more snow this weekend. Depending on which LyingWeatherman you listen to, we're in line for anywhere from 3-6 inches to feet of snow. Joy, joy and happiness. I'm ready for Spring.
I'm also ready for bed. Enough Bah-Humbugging for me. Happy almost Friday. Glad to have my diary back.
N.

11:19 p.m. - 2005-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged