nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day One of DC trip

Day One: DC trip
Most of the journey in was mild, filled with tree-speckled vistas and rock-lined passages. Even the trees seemed different once we were over the Ohio state line and into Pennsylvania (or, as my stepfather always called it, Pennsyltucky. I could hear him whispering it to me the whole way through). I was surprised by how well the boys weathered the lengthy drive. Other than Ry having an almost-accident, it all went smoothly. (We avoided the accident by initiating him into the boys-only club that pees in empty Aquafina bottles in the back of the Mom-bus!)
The Potomac was huge and I loved driving on George Washington Parkway. It reminded me of parts of Ohio, with the trees and the meandering route the road took.
The hotel was huge in comparison to any other I've ever stayed in and teeming with people of all shapes, sizes and colors. It was in the heart of DC, right next to Metro Center and very pretty. Keycards had to be shown just to board the elevators. There was a decent indoor pool (on the third floor, of all places) that the boys immediately began clammoring to swim in.
After check in, we strapped on our walking shoes and went exploring. I was a little intimidated because everything seemed so BIG, not only tall but blocks stretched forever. We spent a little over an hour, wandering around the surrounding area and familiarizing ourselves a bit with the way the streets were laid out and where handy stores were. We found wandered into the Ronny Reagan Trade area and found dozens of statues of Mickey Mouse, multi-colored and multi-themed. It was some sort of art display, celebrating 75 years of Disney. The boys loved posing with some of their favorites. While strolling down one of the streets, we found the old Post Office and the FBI building. Somehow, we stumbled around to Ford's Theater. The boys were suitably impressed with the historical value there and we then went across the street to the boarding house where Lincoln actually died.
Cold and hunger got the best of us and we went in search of something to eat. Potbelly Sandwich Works welcomed us in with open arms and filled our bellies with warm food. Trevor had a steaming bowl of chili sprinkled with cheese and oyster crackers. Ry and I had different sandwiches. Good stuff and decently priced.
Then it was back to the hotel, to decompress, let food settle and tuck away possessions for the rest of our stay there. Before bed, I let the boys loose in the pool and they spent over an hour trying to drown themselves there. It helped to wear them down and they slept like lambs.
Hard not to, in beds like those! The comforters were thick and soft and the beds themselves weren't your run of the mill lumpy, bumpy ones. Heavenly. I slept well myself, after leisurely spying on the offices of buildings near us. I wonder if some of those people know (or care) that I could see them rubbing each other's backs or dancing in to their piped in music or pulling their underwear out of the crack of their ass...
***
I'll update with Day Two tomorrow. And I'm working on uploading the pics from the trip as well. I'll post that link when I get it all up.
Happy Monday.
N.

11:22 p.m. - 2005-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged