nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clearing out.

I found someone who actually wanted all the boys stuff I'd cleaned out. They're now the proud owners of half their Matchbox cars, half their action figures, Mighty Beans, Batman cars and motorcycles, every dinosaur they've collected, miscellaneous building toys and all their books from when they were small, as well as their puzzles.
I can honestly say that I weeded out over 2/3 of their toys, most of which hadn't seen the light of day in over 6 months. I swear they didn't know they even HAD these toys anymore. So now they're very appreciative of the toys that remain, happy to have them all in one place and (in their eyes) best yet, there's room for Santa to bring a million more.
*insert sigh here*
I'm sensing a pattern here. At least as they get older, the toys are of a kind to go with them as adults.
***
Scouts tonight consisted of registering for the big Camporee that's coming up in a few weeks and receiving info about the fundraising popcorn sale. Hip, hip, hooray. Like the schools haven't already deluged everyone with fundraiser stuff! The nice part is that the money the boys raise goes straight into something called a "boy account", sort of like a savings account for each boy to be used for things like the camping trips, etc. That certainly takes some of the "ouch" out of being the parent of a Scout.
***
My kooky old lady neighbor has started doing something that confuses me. She's putting sticky traps and little cups of pink colored liquid next to my house. I'm not sure exactly what it is she's trying to catch or even why she felt the need to put them next to MY house but she has. I've taken them up and set them back next to her house only to find them back in my yard within a day or two. Weird, I tell ya.
***
Happy Monday.
N.

9:30 p.m. - 2005-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged