nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The demon lilac-barber of my street

My poor lilacs.
I butchered the crap out of them today. I walked out the door this afternoon, took a hard look at my yard, and decided today was P-Day. Prune-back-the-bushes Day.
And boy, did I prune! I started with the lilies and assorted other plantings on the one side of the front of the house and migrated quickly to my poor lilac bushes. I was worried, because they'd gotten so tall and lanky, that if we had a lot of snow or ice this Winter, that they'd end up breaking and needing trimmed back anyway. That and I figured they hadn't had a good chop in quite some time...
That is no longer a problem. Admittedly, they look like hell right now. There are huge empty spaces where once there were tall, full stalks waving in the breeze. However, I made sure that in the midst of my trimming, that I was cutting back to nodes so that there would be new growth next year. And I'll be sad when the lilacs on that side of my yard don't bloom next Spring but it's for the best. Like an extremely minor version of the childhood shots my sons' received.
Right now, though? They look like shit.
Poor, poor lilacs.
***
I finished up the decorating for Halloween. Yay for spooky bats, spiders, jack-o-lanterns and ghosts!
The boys got off the bus and were pumped. I don't think they realize that I had to literally IRON the window clings because they weren't stored in a flat manner last year and had curled up like dried leaves on the street.
I found the perfect horns for Trev's devil costume today. They're not the head-bandy type and instead are really...creepy looking. You can barely tell they aren't really growing out of his head! They're exactly what he wanted and in a side bonus included a nasty set of fangy teeth. He's a happy camper. I'll post pics after Beggar's Night.
***
More yard work will ensue tomorrow. I also need to figure out how to break down the trampoline and then where to put it.
Joy and happiness.
Happy Thursday!
N.

10:21 p.m. - 2005-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged