nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Disguises and costumes

Yet another gloomy day but with my head a little clearer, I'm feeling a little more upbeat.
I've been really worried about my Gramps. I know that's part of what layered into yesterday. We had a couple of things occur over the weekend that sent up red flags for me, especially after everything that happened with my Grams.
I roll Gramps' cigarettes every few days or so (as best I can, since I'm not a smoker myself! But it saves him nearly $120 a month) and then take them up, place them in his white Tupperware container for him and we're good to go for a few days more. Saturday, I took him up nearly four packs. He was sitting on the front patio of the elderly apartment complex that he's lived in forever, socializing a bit with some of his neighbors and enjoying the nice weather. He reassured me he'd get the cigs upstairs with no problem so I trundled off on my way.
Sunday morning I got a call about 9:30 am and it was my Gramps, saying he was out of cigarettes.
He smokes about 2 packs a day but that just didn't add up. I asked what he'd done with the ones he'd gotten on Saturday and he very literally could not remember receiving any on Saturday.
Either he smoked a heck of a lot more than he should have or he lost the cigs somewhere between outside and his apartment. That could happen and I wasn't too alarmed until the other incident happened.
My aunt makes my Gramps "healthy cookies". Typically, they're peanut butter or oatmeal raisin with wheat germ and other assorted stuff tossed in to help keep his fiber up and keep him regular. Most of us in the family know not to touch his cookies because...well, just because. She had taken him up a batch on Saturday as well, she said. When I got there on Sunday, Gramps said he had another mystery for me. The cookies were completely gone and Gramps said he hadn't eaten even one of them.
Now, when I cleaned on Monday, I found crumbs in the sink and crumbs on the countertop near the cookie jar they were in.
I don't know if he ate them and forgot (which is something we noticed begin happening with my Grams---her short term memory went quickly) or if someone else ate them...but haven't a clue who, besides family, would have a)known they were there, or b) eaten them and then dumped the crumbs in the sink. If you're going to sneak food in someone else's house, I would think you wouldn't want to leave any sort of evidence...
and logically, that just doesn't make sense. I can't see some old person sneaking into my Gramps' apartment to eat "healthy cookies".
Which leaves me with the idea that he ate them himself and has forgotten or is willfully denying it. Either situation is disturbing to me.
I talked to my youngest aunt because it's worrying me. I've seen him going downhill in other areas but not to this degree. Some of these times he's tried to disguise it as just a small, random thing, like a tiny mental hiccup. I don't think I'm buying that anymore.
***
I've started the process of trying to figure out the boys' Halloween costumes. No longer are they content to settle with a compromise of nifty and creative mixed with muted boyish desire for gory and scary.
Nope. My boys want to go full-bore gore this year, complete with blood and fake weapons. I'm still hoping to find a compromise here somewhere. I like them to be creative in their choices. In past years, we've had a spider, a ghost, vampires galore, a mummy, typical characters like Harry Potter, a cowboy and a pirate...ya know, since I have Gold again, maybe I should try digging up old pics and posting them. That would be fun.
I'm digressing, though. Need to figure out how to meld their bloodlust with my need for something other than Freddy and Jason for Halloweed trick-or-treat pals.
***
Happy Wednesday.
N.

8:58 a.m. - 2006-09-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged