nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overcast

I'm feeling rather blah tonight, almost blue. I'm tired and after having such a beautiful day yesterday (a little windy but nearly 67 degrees with sunshine), we were pelted with rain, snow flurries and slush pellets from above, with overcast skies and cold, cold, cold temps and wind.
It was rather...disconcerting, I think is the best word. Anyone who knows me well knows how I feel about TheLyingWeathermen and their Predictions. I should have believed today, though.
I spent the day just trying to get warm, it seemed like. One of those chills that creeps into your bones and takes up residence there. Random chillbumps and that creepy hair-standing-up-on-the-back-of-your-neck thing. Managed to forget that the younger two boys did NOT have Scouts tonight so I ended up picking one up from school (the other had choir) and running to one end of town, only to find that there were NOT Scouts. There was another boy there who's mother must be as fruity as I am, so I drove him home and then ran back to the other end of town to pick up Trevor. Chitchatted with one of the other "room moms" and then dropped off the final part of Brandon's registration paperwork for his NYC trip. We picked up a $5 pizza and finally got home. The boys all ate, finished up homework and disappeared to their rooms.
It's quiet. My blisters from the raking yesterday are, for the most part, retreating. One, however, is not only large but also decided to burst during raking and then peeled off, thus leaving really raw skin and this morning it was an ugly red and swollen and painful.
I tried a bandaid on it and that helped in keeping it protected from every-day wear and tear but also kept it from the air so I've opened it up for the evening.
I'm such a whiner! Been so long since I've had blisters I forgot how irritating they were!
I'm in a baking mood so I think we'll be doing a bunch of that this weekend. Feeling the need to do a little homebodying and a lot of hunkering down.
Can I just say that I miss having someone in my life who "gets" me? That I miss having human, adult, even nonsense conversations? That I hope, someday, to come across someone I don't have to shield myself from every minute of every hour of every day or won't have to walk around on eggshells for, as I have in the past? That I miss having someone in my life, besides my children, who accepts me in all my flawed glory and loves me anyway?
Yeah. I miss that.
Happy almost-Friday.
N.

7:56 p.m. - 2007-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged