nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Birthday, baby.

Not only is today Mother's Day, but more importantly, today my son Trevor turns 7.

I remember seeing him for the first time and being shocked(pleasantly) by his dimples. I remember how huge his baby hands and feet were, like a puppy not yet grown into his paws. He had the biggest dark blue eyes in the world and very little hair, and the roundest little Charlie Brown head. He was my biggest baby, 8 pounds 3/4 ounces.

The first four months of his life were hellacious. I could only nurse him for about 2 weeks because I had to go back to work and had not the first clue about pumping breast milk. I was only 21. Trevor had an iron intolerance, although that wasn't figured out until he was almost 4 months old. The doctor and I ran the gamut between every formula known to man. And finally figured out why he screamed every waking minute. It wasn't colic. He just couldn't handle iron.

My Trevor took his own sweet time learning how to walk and talk. At the tender age of 15 months, he was diagnosed with what they call borderline autism. Basically that means he showed certain behaviors that could develop into autism or that were in the "autistic spectrum." He learned how to sign before he learned how to talk. Rocking was his way of soothing himself. And he wasn't big on eye contact, so making a real connection with Trev was very difficult for most people. He also had severe ear infections, and ended up having tubes put in when he was barely two.

Today my son Trevor is a wonderful 7 yr old, typical in so many ways. He's developed in ways I never imagined he would or could. Most of his behaviors have decreased or disappeared. He rarely rocks, and although he's shy sometimes, he'll look you in the eye when speaking to you. Outgoing and athletic, he's my gently giant. He has a heart of gold, and will give anyone anything if it will make them happy. Trev has more empathy in his little finger than most people have in their entire body and because of that, he hurts often for others. He's sweet and funny and smart and so honest it hurts. He's also my most affectionate. If ever there were someone who wore their heart on their sleeve, it's Trevor.

He's made such strides and come through so much. And the pride and love I have for this little man is more than I think I can contain sometimes. His soul shines through so brightly.

On May 11th, 1996, I gave birth to my son Trevor. I brought him home on Mother's Day. I can't think of a more wonderful gift.

N.

4:11 p.m. - 2003-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged