nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

jellicle cats

Last evening, we brought our kitties home. They both would have preferred to stay right in their carriers, and not have ventured out. Finally peeled out of the carriers, both were skittish and timid of everything. They stared at the carpet like it was some strange new beast attempting to eat their little paws. After adjusting to walking on such a new surface, Freya (tiger) proceeded to scout out every inch of the house, methodically going from room to room to room. Following an introduction to the litter box and feeding areas, she ended up crawling under the bed in my sons' room. Understandable--it's small and close quarters. Exactly what she's used to. Wraith (black) tiptoed her way (her paws are still tender from the declaw) around the living room, all along the outside walls, and across the front of the fireplace. She stopped several times, all of them being singular perches---the top of a stack of books, the arm of the recliner, the back of the couch. Her main destination for the night was the arm of the couch, within easy reach of me. Both have been very tolerant of the boys, and have dealt with petting quite well, if a little skittishly. I wasn't sure, never having been in quite this situation before, whether to put them back in their carriers for the night, but chose not to. Freya was under the boys bed still when I went to bed. Wraith crawled into bed with me for a short time then burrowed her way into a small space in my closet.

This morning, Wraith has settled into using the litter box with no problems, has eaten as well and discovered a small space under the cloth draped over a table in my living room. Freya is AWOL. She decided my bedroom floor was a nice substitute for the litter box (grrrrrrrrrrrr) and has since vanished. I took the boys to school, and ran some errands and she's not to be found. I called the vet and asked some questions, got some answers and have decided to let her come out from wherever it is she's hiding in her own due time. My only real concern is this non-litterbox thing.

That's an adventure I don't want to have.

Ahhh Memorial Day weekend. Should prove fairly busy--I'm sure we'll have more than our fair share of citations, and bonds. Any reason to drink, especially holidays, and we get busy. And busy for me is good. Better than sitting around listening to some snaggletoothed nonbather carry on and on about her back injury.

Lovely stuff.

Ok. I need to shower for work and get a few more things taken care of.

Be safe, this weekend.

N.

10:16 a.m. - 2003-05-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged