nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I wish I could see inside

It's blissfully silent here, for just a little while. My sons have gone off with my aunt to shop. And I have complete and total me time. Complete silence.

And damned if I don't feel at loose ends. I'm eating steamed broccoli and it's hitting the spot.

I'm reading that they believe the whole power outage originated in Ohio. How grand! Now not only are we responsible for Jeff Dahmer and frustrating Elliot Ness, but we've also spawned a multi-state power loss. Go OHIO!

I was thinking today, while at work trying to make it through the last four hours with CindyClothesOptional, that you never really know someone when you start dating them. If you haven't done a comprehensive background check, (and even sometimes when you have) you don't really know what you're getting into. I've met people that, looking at them, you'd never know had been convicted of rape. I've known people I'd have never guessed were capable of armed robbery, or domestic violence. I think that's part of the fear people have in dating, not only of getting to know someone and becoming vulnerable but also you never really know what a person is capable of. How can you tell a person's core, what they do in times of stress, what they do behind closed doors when they know there isn't anyone to see? How can you see inside their head to learn?

I know that sometimes it's simply being around that person that can tell you what they're like, but what if that's too late? What if they put up a facade that is so convincing it draws you in?

And fools you.

N.

6:35 p.m. - 2003-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged