nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

musings

Trevor decided he didn't want to go to school as a Thing after all. Ryan, however, was overjoyed to go as a Thing and therefore my early morning hours were spent putting together a red outfit and carefully painting my very blonde son's hair a nice shade of blue, with my fingers and blue hair glue. Blue hair glue, gooey gooey. Boy's hair blue, gluey gluey.

Channeling Seuss, someone help me.

At any rate, he was a riot to see. And being a Thing suits him in a big way. He's an ornery little guy.

Grams had visitors today, one the mother of a juvenile court judge. She's been friends with Lucy for more years than I think I've been alive. They've spent much time together, wandering around doing the things old friends do. Neither of them drives any longer so they have to depend on the goodwill of others to transport them to the same space. They spent probably an hour just going over the happenings from their mutual church and then another hour catching up on their own lives.

I'm envious. I can't help but think it's really nifty to have someone who's known you your entire life, who knows all the ins and outs in a different way than a spouse, who holds some of your history in their lives as well. Being raised rather nomadicly, I didn't have that opportunity and I think it's amazing.

Today is a day for comfort. I'm wrapped up in a soft, soft sweater (sans bra) and a pair of sweats, barefoot with hair in a messy bun at the nape of my neck, sipping at a cup of hot chocolate and enjoying the lack of noise in my house. Can't ask for a better way to spend an afternoon.

Happy Wednesday.

N.

1:51 p.m. - 2004-03-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged