nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go, Speedracer, Go!~

I'm alive.

I couldn't, for anything, get a nap in before I went to work last night and therefore went in dogass tired, not quite prepared for an 8 hr shift. It was awful in the worst sense. Within the first half hour of being there, I got slammed with a screwy bond (paid half with credit card, half with cash), three drunks (which we have to witness and tape, as well as unlock and open doors back to the BAC room), a crabby and pre-menstrual coworker, officers trying to finish up paperwork so they could leave from the previous shift and then a whining wife in the lobby for one of the drunks who kept interrupting my screwy bond! Lovely stuff. Finally settled down around 2 am, leaving me afloat. I'd wanted to make a phone call but that didn't happen. Didn't even come close to happening. Sucked in a big way. I'd also wanted to get my soda before diving into the work and that didn't happen either.

The latter half of my shift was pretty quiet, to the degree that I had a tough time staying awake. My eyeballs just didn't want to stay open and I will admit (with some guilt) that I think I did nod off in 2 second increments during the last hour.

I came home this morning and dive-bombed my bed. I only got about a five hour nap but it was enough to recharge a bit.

I decided to chuck the race idea tonight, for a couple of reasons. I'm sure the boys would have had a blast, but I wasn't up to the noise level that would have come with that sort of place and I think they'll survive a couple more years without a speedway experience. Instead, we headed over to Wooster, to a place called Acres of Fun. Trevor kicked some ass in the batting cages there, but Ry didn't fare so well--he stepped into a ball coming out of the machine going about 35 mph and got smacked in the hand with it. It swelled up some, took off a smidgeon of skin and bruised up a bit but a little ice had him happy in no time. Before we hit the batting cages, we spent an inordinate amount of time playing video games and other assorted fun things like air hockey and skiball. It was fun to introduce them to Galaga (I'm showing my age here) and Ms. Pacman. Acres of Fun is sort of like a mix between Chuck E Cheese (less people, more room, not so busy) and your favorite sports entertainment place. We were going to play Lazer Tag but Ry's not quite tall enough yet so instead we opted for Go Karts. Holy. Mackerel. Ryan is a madman. Really. I foresaw my future tonight and it's fraught with heart attacks. He's an adrenaline junkie already. He loves anything fast and scary. He'll be the one who loves roller coasters and mountain bikes, and will do stupid things like jumping off the roof. He ate up those Karts in a big way. Trevor was a little more cautious but enjoyed them as well. Lots of fun. Come Summer, they'll have bumper boats up and running as well as the mini golf course and we'll spend some time there.

All in all, a good time. This was Trev's birthday celebration--he turns 8 on Tuesday. Eight already. We'll have cake actually on Tuesday, along with gifts, etc.

That said, I'm going to bed now. I'm beat. More tomorrow--lots to get out of my head.

Happy Saturday.

N.

11:01 p.m. - 2004-05-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged