nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Commmmmmmme onnnnnnnn Fall.

I'm settling back into a sort-of routine with my grandparents again. Took Grams over from the nursing home today to see Gramps and he wouldn't get out of bed. She didn't want to stay in the apartment long because, ironically, she didn't recognize it or anything in it! Getting her to go back to the nursing home was much easier than I thought it would be. Altogether I spent the better part of four hours there, cleaning and straightening up. He lives exactly as he is--an elderly bachelor. Having been married to my Grams for 53 years now, he's become used to having a woman to do those housework-type duties. He probably hasn't a clue where the trash chute is in that place! At any rate, his apartment is cleaner now than it has been in weeks and Grams got out of the home for awhile. We spent quite an amount of time outside on the patio, watching squirrels and birds and the boys play.

I have to confess a moment of indignation last night, though. My aunt called and really stomped on my toes in regard to the whole caretaking-of-Gramps situation. And I was sorely tempted last night to tell her to shove it all up her...yep. I slept on it though and resolved to try and be not only a good granddaughter but also more patient. People don't always realize exactly how they come off when they're stressed out. And perhaps lately I've had a bit of a "the world hates me and is out to get me" attitude. Something I need to watch for and adjust, I guess.

Stress does funny things to a person.

***

Today is sweltering. Hot. Waves of heat glimmer up from the pavement and even the plants in my flowerbeds seem lethargic and wilty. I think I gave myself third degree burns while putting on the seatbelt this afternoon--I forgot how hot the damn things get when you've shut up your car. Ohio has been blessed, for the most part, with a fairly mild summer. I know that August typically brings more heat but after today, TheLyingWeathermen predict (hopefully TRUTHFULLY) a cooling trend. Keeping my fingers crossed for that one. I don't sleep well when it's hot or humid and last night was no exception. Getting to sleep at 2:30 am and then getting up again at 6 just isn't working for me. Could be why some parents threaten to drug their kiddos, eh?

Kidding, kidding.

***

When we got home from Grandparent duty this afternoon, there was a meandering message on the machine from Seth for the boys. I had to laugh. It's cute, though, the friendships that are forming. J up the street has really taken a shine to Ry and Trev and Seth are best buddies. Ryan I've not been so worried about--he's like a cat and will always end up on his feet. He's got that knack. Trevor (while a likeable, sweet-natured kid) marches to his own drummer and has had difficulties in the past fitting in. It's really doing my heart good to see him with a buddy all his own. They get other calls but seem to have found some sort of kinship with these particular two boys. School this year should be interesting.

Happy Monday, all. I hope your neck of the woods is cooler than mine!

N.

3:32 p.m. - 2004-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged